Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I used a white cake mix instead since that always reminds me of coconut cake. I also used coconut buttercream icing instead. 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening, coconut flavoring, 1 lb powdered sugar, 2 or 3 TBS milk, and 2 cups coconut. It was so yummy. A HUGE hit on Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
Oh my gosh!!! This cake is wonderful. I took a couple of you alls suggestions and made a 9 inch 2 layer. It was very pretty and scrumptous. I added chopped candied pecans in place of the walnuts and made a little extra frosting because we are frosting freaks. Will definately make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
This cake was great! I didn't even notice until after I put the cake in the oven that the cake mix I purchased already had pudding in it, and subsequently the cake required almost 45 minutes to bake. It turned out fine, though. I toasted some coconut in the oven for the topping. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Delicious! I made the cake as recommended with the exception of nuts. It was terrific, very moist. I made one cake with the frosting recommended and toasted coconut - great. I made another batch as pinapple upside down cupcakes and they were so good that they didn't last the evening. I melted 1/2 tablespoon butter in bottom of cupcake tins, added some brown sugar to melted butter, put pinapple ring in bottom with cherry in center, cake batter on top. After cooking (25-30 min) I flipped them immediately onto wax paper then placed them on a plate. Beautiful and delicious! Each cupcake is a great individual serving but everyone took more than just one!!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANECOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Great cake, Diane! I exchanged the veg.oil with the cream of coconut. I stuck with the yellow mix as I don't care for white cake. Used Pecans instead of the walnuts, and used coconut pudding instead of the vanilla. Shredded the coconut up fine. For the frosting I used my own made up recipe as the one here would have been too sweet for my family. I bought instant coconut pudding and 8 oz of cream cheese. Mixed together and spread on cake. Put a thin layer of cool whip on top of the pudding mix and topped it off by adding toasted coconut on top. Had never toasted coconut before. So good that way. Easy-just put in oven for a few minutes. Keep an eye out as they brown up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
I made this cake for Easter and though It is Easter eve as of now I have to say I tasted it and it was great! The icing is awesome, and I would make it again anyday. While I was getting it all together I had serious doubts. 1)The coconut was really greasy, so maybe I would toast the coconut in the oven and avoid all that butter. 2) While icing the cake it looked really messy and I thought at some point that it tastes very good but doesn't give a nice appearance but once I was finished making things look nice, and sprinkling the coconut on top, it really came together great and it tasted great as well. So I would definetly make this cake. So if while making this cake you think that your doing it wrong or that it was a bad choice, stick it out and you'll see that this cake is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I made this cake for my husband's birthday, and he was thrilled! He LOVES coconut, and LOVED this cake! It gets better and better in the fridge, too. The only thing I would change is that I'd chop the coconut a bit before stirring it into the cake batter... some of the pieces were a little long and stringy when you picked up a bite with your fork! It was excellent though, and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Absolutely, insanely good! I followed the recipe exactly, except I baked it in 2 9" rounds. It was so moist and flavorful, and got raves from my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I substituted a dark chocolate cake mix, and chocolate pudding for this recipe. I also used cream of coconut (found in Ethnic or liquor dept. of store) in place of veg. oil. Finally, I added coconut extract instead of vanilla to the recipe. This was so rich, so flavorful and sinful! My family loved every bite and it disappeared in record time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baking_queen
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
made this cake for my mom's birthday who loves coconut and it got rave reviews from all the guests. even my brother who is not a big fan of coconut said it was awesome. I did take the advice of other posters to use cream of coconut instead of the oil. I also put 2 tablespoons cream of coconut in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking_queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States