Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made this cake for my son's 6th birthday because he loves coconut. It was so easy and came out sooooo nice. I was almost going to skip the toasted coconut topping but am so glad i didnt, it adds so much to the finished cake. I also baked mine in a springfoam pan for 45 minutes. This cake is huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I used a white cake mix instead since that always reminds me of coconut cake. I also used coconut buttercream icing instead. 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening, coconut flavoring, 1 lb powdered sugar, 2 or 3 TBS milk, and 2 cups coconut. It was so yummy. A HUGE hit on Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is a good recipe, nice and easy. I Made the bunny cake as seen on a video on this website with the toasted coconut and marshmallows, it was perfect. I didnt put the nuts in the cake mix and I also used shredded coconut instead of flaked and everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I don't even like coconut and these were amazing! I made cupcakes and they were so moist and wonderful. The toasted coconut is what really made it. Frosting was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Linske

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Really disliked this recipe. The coconut and yellow cake do not mesh well, and the frosting was awful. Tasted like sweet cream cheese. Would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I never liked coconut until this cake. The toasted buttery crunchy coconut on top makes it even better. Only coconut you will ever see me eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynni Thorne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Forestville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
So good, and so easy! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Very good - moist and flavorful. My father in law has a coconut cake every year and his favorite bakery stopped making them. I made this one because of the high reviews and was pleased. I added probably 1/2 c applesauce because of some reviewiers saying it was dry. I was disappointed that it was yellow instead of white so i might sub another cake mix, but it tasted so good id hate to mess it up. FIL didn't mind the yellow. He likes a different icing though so I made the icing from the "6 layer coconut cake" recipe on this site. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Out of all the cakes I make this is my husband's favorite. Its so moist and coconuty! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I made this for my mom's birthday, and with the following changes it turned out excellent! For the batter, I omitted nuts and chopped the coconut finely. Then I split the two 9 inch cakes into 4 layers and filled it with the pineapple topping recipe also from this site. For the frosting, It would have been way too sweet for my asian tastebuds, and so I used 1 8 oz package of cream cheese and only 3/4 cup sugar! YES, it might sound like too little but the cake itself is already extremely sweet. After frosting the cake, I toasted 2 cups of coconut and smothered the entire cake with it so it looked like one big toasted snowball. The flavor was out of this world. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States