Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Made this for picky dinner guests and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Wow! Very moist and delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I loved the toasted coconut on the top. I toasted mine in the oven with out mixing it with any butter and it came out perfect. I didn't care for the addition of the nuts in the cake batter. A good cake though and good icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made this cake for my sister's birthday since she requested a coconut cake, and everyone liked it! It was a bit too sweet though, so make sure you cute small slices. However, it'd be a mess to try to cut small slices because the cake was so soft and crumbly. The frosting was delicious as well. I made the cake using two round pans. I will try to do cupcakes with this and leave the coconut out of the frosting and just top it with the roasted coconut. Delicious with a glass of cold milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
There are several steps involved, but the instructions are well written and easy to follow. It's the first time I've ever browned coconut, and not only is it attractive on the cake, it tastes wonderful. My wife couldn't believe how good it was. She said she would be getting up in the middle of the night for more. I am not a big cake fan, but if all cakes were this good, I might change my cake tune.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This recipe was easy to follow and produced a very moist cake. I tweaked it a bit by using coconut milk instead of water and replaced the vanilla extract with coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Made it 9 x 13. It is very light and airy so a little hard to cut, tends to fall apart. But,....it is delicious, a real hit with the family so will definately make again. Needs to bake longer than recipe states. If you are a coconut fan, this is your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This cake is absolutely, insanely, sweet! I love sweets, but could barely finish a piece. I followed the recipe almost exactly, but used coconut milk instead of regular milk. I also withheld the walnuts. This is one cake that I will be sure to make to wow friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Very good moist! Husband loved it. very moist. Next time i might add some raisins. This was the easiest coconut cake that I have ever made. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
just finished frosting this. if the batter and the frosting tastes are any indication this is going to be awesome. i'm made it for my hubby's nana's birthday so i hope it's great. i was worried a couple times b/c the frosting looked funny and the browned coconut looked oily but i kept on and it turned out beautiful! i couldn't find coconut oil so i used canola and instead of milk i substituted coconut milk in the cake and the frosting. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States