Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe stated and it was fantastic! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I'm not a baker but was inspired by an episode of Throw Down. This cake looked right up my alley and it was delicious. I used a white cake but the vanilla pudding turned it yellow anyway. Shared with friends and family and already have requests for another one. Doubled the icing! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Made this cake yesterday and it was fantastic. My husband is still raving about it being the best cake he ever had. Just wondering why the picture shows a round layer cake but the recipe calls for a 9" x 12".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excellent cake, very moist! The only problem is the frosting recipe is way too little for a 3-layer cake. I added a cube of butter, another cup of powdered sugar, 3/4 tsp vanilla and 1 Tbl of milk. The frosting tasted better and covered the whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I was slightly disappointed in this cake. I followed some suggestions from other reviews. It was not full of coconut flavor despite all of the coconut used! I made this cake in to a bunny cake- how to video on this site- so it was covered in coconut, plus coconut in the frosting and coconut in the actual cake. It was also quite crumbly and fell apart once it was cut. It did, however, stay together when I was frosting and decorating it. I almost didn't want to cut into because it looked better as a bunny! Over all it's an easy recipe and good, but needs some improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This cake was awful for me! I followed exactly and after 30 mins the top was browning but the middle was still mushy! Baked longer and had to cover w/foil to prevent the top from burning. The taste of the cake was bland. Too much hassle for a mediocre tasting cake. The frosting is also WAY too sweet. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrooklynKyler
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I used this recipe to make about 22 standard size cupcakes and they were fluffy and moist. I did think it tasted mostly like yellow cake, even after adding coconut pudding (instead of vanilla) and coconut extract to the icing. I'll be making this again, and will try white cake mix instead of the yellow. Overall, this is a good recipe. Easy to throw together, and wonderfully moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynKyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This cake is so moist and wonderful. I found the frosting a bit sweet for my tastes but that may be because the coconut was sweetened. Highly recomend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Incredibly sweet, but totally delicious! Will definitely make again. Great for true coconut lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Okay but not to die for. My husband did seem to enjoy it though. Not a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States