Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made the cake exactly as directed, the batter is so thick! The recipe calls for 3.5 oz of pudding mix which is 2-1.5 oz boxes. Did anyone else have this problem? Glenda W.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I get rave reviews when I make this cake. It's really moist and sweet. I kind of feel like I'm 'cheating' by using a cake mix, but because of that simplicity my 11 year old daughter is able to make it completely on her own. My husband is constantly asking her to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made this cake for my husbands birthday. Share with co workers and it was a hit! A couple of people said it was so good it made them want to cry... Haha . Great recipe! I did use pecans instead..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
The cake itself is amazing! I substituted macadamia nuts for walnuts. The frosting was barely enough for a two layer cake, so I would recommend increasing the frosting by half. Also, the cream cheese flavoring was muted. I would increase the cream cheese next time as well. However, even though the frosting needed tweaking, the cake is worth more than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I made this recipe and I made a few subtle changes just based on my own preferences. I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. In the frosting I didn't cook the coconut in the butter (so I omitted the 2 tablespoons called for there) I just toasted the coconut in the oven and used it to top the cake once it was frosted. Also in the frosting it calls for the butter to be melted then creamed with the cream cheese instead I just let the butter soften then toss it into my food processor with the cream cheese. It was a delicious frosting and cake I will totally make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I think that this might be the best and easiest cake that I have ever made! The cake was so moist and delicious! Although I am certain that the recipe is outstanding as is, I did make a few small changes. I used two 9" cake pans and did not add nuts. I also whipped up a batch of my favorite buttercream frosting (1 cup softened butter, 1 cup crisco, powdered sugar, splash of milk, vanilla and coconut extract) and spread it between the layers and all over the top and sides of the cake. I covered the entire cake with flaked coconut. It looked beautiful and was a HUGE hit. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
My son loves coconut cake and I made this for his birthday. He said it was the best coconut cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I used this recipe for the frosting only. I gave it just four stars because I didn't love the coconut browned with sugar - it was too moist. So, I did that part over by simply browning the coconut on a baking sheet in the oven. I made cupcakes from a box mix and evev with lots of frosting on all 24 cupcakes I had leftover! Delish and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made this recipe for my daughter's 1st Birthday and it was a HUGE hit!!I used Duncan Hines brand for the cake mix. Sooo good:) Thanks for this recipe! I will be making this cake for her birthdays from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Delicious! I agree with others that, aside from the coconut pieces, the cake itself did not taste very coconut-ty, but I thought it was moist and delicious just the same. I made a two layer 9" round cake and only baked it for 24 minutes. Also, I added 1.5 cups of powdered sugar and 2 T butter to the frosting to get a little more and make it more of a cross between cream cheese and buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States