Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I made the recipe as is except for using 2 rounds instead of the 9X13. It was so tasty. It is rich. So like someone else said, the cake goes a long way with a crowd since a small piece is so rich. The icing was a bit sweet for my taste but everyone else just loved it! I'll definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is VERY rich and a good dessert for a crowd, as a small piece will satisfy. Part of that richness is the creme cheese icing. So, on a portion of the cake (to lighten the load), I instead tried a dollop of whipped cream sprinkled with some of the buttered/browned coconut. REALLY good! Also, prepared without the creme cheese icing, the cake doesn't require refrigeration. Cake is a bit crumbly, but very tasty whichever topping you choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I made exactly as directed, except I used 2 round cake pans instead of the 9x13, and my family RAVED about this cake. My mom is making it for a potluck this week. This cake is definitely sticky-sweet and for coconut lovers only, but that describes my whole family, so it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is such an easy recipe and it is very good. I made it for my friends and everyone just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Cake was miost, but not much coconut flavor. Way to much frosting for my taste.Will try with coconut cream or flavoring the next time. Great if you dont like strong flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peebles, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
LOVED IT! Made it for my boyfriend's birthday and he loved it too! I used the 9x13 pan and cut it in half to make the double layer. It was my first time to double a cake but turned out great! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made this cake for my son's 6th birthday because he loves coconut. It was so easy and came out sooooo nice. I was almost going to skip the toasted coconut topping but am so glad i didnt, it adds so much to the finished cake. I also baked mine in a springfoam pan for 45 minutes. This cake is huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe is amazing. I used a white cake mix instead since that always reminds me of coconut cake. I also used coconut buttercream icing instead. 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening, coconut flavoring, 1 lb powdered sugar, 2 or 3 TBS milk, and 2 cups coconut. It was so yummy. A HUGE hit on Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is a good recipe, nice and easy. I Made the bunny cake as seen on a video on this website with the toasted coconut and marshmallows, it was perfect. I didnt put the nuts in the cake mix and I also used shredded coconut instead of flaked and everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I don't even like coconut and these were amazing! I made cupcakes and they were so moist and wonderful. The toasted coconut is what really made it. Frosting was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Linske

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States