Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I have been trying coconut cake recipes every Christmas for years, and this one was my favorite. I'll never look again! I used a white cake mix which I thought looked pretty, and I also used cream of coconut instead of the vegetable oil. I like to put a little cream of coconut in the frosting, too, just for extra flavor. Let me tell you, my mother-in-law is the Christmas Cake Queen of all time, but this coconut cake was consumed in no time even with her cakes around! I was very pleased! I plan to make this at Easter and whenever I have an occasion for a cake. Thanks for a terrific recipe that reminds me so much of my grandmother's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I made this coconut cake for my Bunco group last night. The ladies loved it! I made it as the recipe says, however, I substituted pecans for the walnuts. I love pecans. Even the ladies who said they typically didn't care for sweets - loved it! Didn't have alot left over. I will definitely make this again. Oh, and the toasted coconut on top - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This recipe is now a staple in my collection!!! I use about half af the coconut in the cake and icing and instead add about a cup of pineapple. It makes for a great pina colada flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROWNSKYNLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Yum, everyone raved and wanted the receipe. They had no idea I started with a cake mix. I did make 2 changes to the cake. I used 1/2 melted butter instead of oil & I omitted the nuts. I think next time I will add a little more coconut but will shread. I may also add another egg. I would also like to add coconut extract instead a vanilla. I am a sweet junkie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassycents

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This has become a family favorite! If yoou love coconut and walnuts - this is perfect! People will think you've made it entirely from scratch. One thing I've added is lemon zest in the frosting. It gives it a nice zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I made this cake for thanksgiving and my family absolutely loved it. It did taste good but I had some trouble with it. The texture of the cake itself was weird and it was very hard to slice. I couldn't figure out why for the life of me but then I remembered that the cake mix I bought said it had a full cup of pudding already in the mix. I added the additional box of pudding on top of that so I'm sure this accounts for the sticky cake. As for the frosting, I just couldn't get it to set up. It was too soft to frost the cake. I make cream chesse frosting all the time and this is the first time I've ever had this happen. I ended up adding a LOT more confectioners sugar and chilling the frosting overnight. After doing that, I was able to frost the cake but the frosting was still so soft that it kept sliding off the sides of the cake. I finally sprinkled the enitre surface with toasted coconut and that stopped it. I still don't know what happened - coult it have been the weather? I live down south and it was really hot that day with thunderstorms. I'm going to try this one again because it really is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Dumbfoundingly good. I made this for my friend's birthday, and it received RAVE reviews. I ditched the nuts, pressed raw coconut into the sides and top, and decorated the edge only with the toasted coconut. I may try it next time with a chocolate cake -- could be interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Excellent cake. Easier than scratch, but better than just a box mix and canned frosting. The family loved it, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
BEST cake I've ever made. It turned out moist and perfect. The walnuts are a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Benbrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This recipe was soooo good! The only change I made was to make 2 8" layers and spread some of the cream cheese frosting in between. This one didn't last long!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States