Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Delicious! I made the cake as recommended with the exception of nuts. It was terrific, very moist. I made one cake with the frosting recommended and toasted coconut - great. I made another batch as pinapple upside down cupcakes and they were so good that they didn't last the evening. I melted 1/2 tablespoon butter in bottom of cupcake tins, added some brown sugar to melted butter, put pinapple ring in bottom with cherry in center, cake batter on top. After cooking (25-30 min) I flipped them immediately onto wax paper then placed them on a plate. Beautiful and delicious! Each cupcake is a great individual serving but everyone took more than just one!!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANECOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Ok everyone...here is the scoop...this is THE BEST CAKE EVER! I made this for my mother-in-law's birthday. She likes chocolate cake so, I used a chocolate cake mix and chocolate pudding. It was absolutely fabulous. So, I decided to try it with the white cake mix~~~~not as great, but still wonderful! My advice? Don't use fat free or light cream cheese, makes the icing way too soft and runny. My brother tasted this today (he doesn't like coconut) and he loved it! Changed his mind about coconut. This is the BEST cake ever! I highly recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
This cake was great! I didn't even notice until after I put the cake in the oven that the cake mix I purchased already had pudding in it, and subsequently the cake required almost 45 minutes to bake. It turned out fine, though. I toasted some coconut in the oven for the topping. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
My mother loves coconut cake, so I thought I would try this recipe since time was running low. I used white cake mix instead of yellow to make it look more what we are accustomed coconut cakes to look like. I also just used egg whites. I left out the nuts, but think next time I might try them. I used the coconut milk in place of the oil as others suggested, and put some in the frosting also. Well, it was a huge hit, everyone raved about it, and my mother was so pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This was a very moist and flavorful cake. For the cake itself: I substituted French Vanilla cake mix for Yellow and Coconut Cream Pudding for Vanilla pudding. For the frosting: I substituted Coco extract for Vanilla extract. I also did not want a very sweet cake, so I cut down to 1/2 cup of confectioner's sugar and added some whipping cream. The cream didn't come out very stiff so it kind of made the frosting a bit runny, I had to put it in the fridge for a bit to become thicker. Because of the frosting it wasn't a very pretty cake, but it did make up for it in flavor and was a big hit at last night's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I made this for a church Luau we had for a couple that were leaving to the mainland, and everyone loved it. My husband really liked it, and asks for it all the time. Wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
I used this recipe for the cake base, I used my own frosting... but the cake was so good... I made this for my inlaws, and the cake was gone that next night!! 5 stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This was fabulous. I followed the advice of others and used cream of coconut in place of the oil, and also added some to the frosting. I omitted the coconut from the frosting, but topped the cake w/toasted coconut. I was tempted to use untoasted coconut to have a white cake. I'm glad I resisted temptation and toasted it first - what a fantastic difference it makes! I made this in two 9-inch rounds, and the cake traveled very well. It was also great a few days later - wish we still had some left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This cake took about 45 minutes to bake in my oven. After reading other reviews, I too toasted my coconut topping in the oven and it turned out great. My cake mix also had a cup of pudding in the mix and I added the box of pudding as called for in the recipe and the cake turned out very moist. I used pecans rather than walnuts as a personal preference. The cake went over very well at my family Easter dinner and everyone loved it. It has a lot of coconut flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I think I messed this up - I left out the pudding mix because the cake mix had pudding in it and the cake was entirely too crumbly. It tasted delicious though. I'll try it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States