Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
My suggestions: 1)Make sure your coconut is finely shredded and not flaked; otherwise, the cake will have to be chewed rather than melt in your mouth. 2)The coconut cream: I live in a metropolitan area and could not find it at 'upscale' or 'co-op' markets, but found two brands for less than a dollar a can in the imported ethnic food aisle of a big box market. 3)I tried a suggestion posted below and used seedless raspberry jam as the filling between the layers and wouldn't do it again. It is an odd taste combination with the coconut and it soaked into the layers - no different than it would into white bread had I stopped to think about it - instead of remaining as a visible separator between the layers. This was my first attempt at a coconut cake. Not the bliss I was searching for but it may have been my inexperience and the substitutions I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Everyone ate it & said it was great. I thought it was too dry & not enough coconut flavor. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
AWESOME! This recipe is great and very easy. We ate the entire cake between 8 people in one sitting ... couldn't get enough. The only thing I did differently was I used lite Cool Whip for the frosting with the coconut on top. I didn't have the cream cheese on hand. The cake was moist and delicious. I would highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Absolutely wonderful!! Followed directions exactly. The only thing I would change is to halve the cream cheese frosting recipe. Way too much for just frosting the top of a 9 x 13 inch pan. Other than that, one of the best at-home cakes I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baking_queen
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
made this cake for my mom's birthday who loves coconut and it got rave reviews from all the guests. even my brother who is not a big fan of coconut said it was awesome. I did take the advice of other posters to use cream of coconut instead of the oil. I also put 2 tablespoons cream of coconut in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking_queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Yum! This is by far one of the easiest and tastiest cakes I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly, the only change being instead of making the frosting I used canned Cream Cheese frosting and sprinkled some toasted coconut on top of that. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This cake is GREAT! Everyone loved it! I followed the directions exactly. As with most boxed cake mixes, it was better the next day. So I made it the day before the party so it would be perfect....and it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I make this with just a couple of changes; I omit the nuts and add seedless rasberry jam as a filling. I have made it as both a sheetcake and as 9" round layers. Just split the cake, spread with a small jar of rasberry jam, and frost as usual. I get requests for this recipe every single time I make it. So easy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Delicious! I made the cake as recommended with the exception of nuts. It was terrific, very moist. I made one cake with the frosting recommended and toasted coconut - great. I made another batch as pinapple upside down cupcakes and they were so good that they didn't last the evening. I melted 1/2 tablespoon butter in bottom of cupcake tins, added some brown sugar to melted butter, put pinapple ring in bottom with cherry in center, cake batter on top. After cooking (25-30 min) I flipped them immediately onto wax paper then placed them on a plate. Beautiful and delicious! Each cupcake is a great individual serving but everyone took more than just one!!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANECOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
Ok everyone...here is the scoop...this is THE BEST CAKE EVER! I made this for my mother-in-law's birthday. She likes chocolate cake so, I used a chocolate cake mix and chocolate pudding. It was absolutely fabulous. So, I decided to try it with the white cake mix~~~~not as great, but still wonderful! My advice? Don't use fat free or light cream cheese, makes the icing way too soft and runny. My brother tasted this today (he doesn't like coconut) and he loved it! Changed his mind about coconut. This is the BEST cake ever! I highly recommend this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni

Displaying results 101-110 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States