Coconut Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this for a christmas party and needless to say I was the hit of the party. I even got a call after I left to let me know how delicious it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Ack! Too sweet for our taste. Hubby who has a real sweet tooth only ate 1 slice. We ended up throwing it out. If you make this be prepared, the frosting will make your teeth ache it's so sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was an easy recipe and the result was a wonderfully moist cake. I made a plain cream cheese icing and then scattered some coconut and nuts on top. It's a sweet cake and I thought two more cups of coconut would make it too sweet - and for our family it would have. Served it twice over the weekend to company and was asked for the recipe both times. Thanks so much for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I followed a bunch of others suggestions and used cream of coconut and store-bought cream cheese icing. I also made as cupcakes since they were traveling to a party. Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetslady
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I took this to my friends and they gobbled it up! I made my own coconut cream cheese frosting. Rave reviews! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I substituted cream of coconut for the vegetable oil, used store-bought cream cheese frosting, and spread a layer of seedless raspberry jam in the middle. The flavor was delicious. Perfectly coconuty. However, my toothpick kept coming out sticky and I let it bake a lot longer than the recipe calls for. In the end, when the toothpick finally came out clean, the cake was a bit on the dry side. Also, the coconut shreds do make the cake a bit crumby. Tastes good but lacks moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaCupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
It is easy and delicious! I did have to bake it 45min. however and I used coconut milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Followed directions exactly, and cake was delicious and moist. I felt the frosting was too sweet, and will try to make it a bit more tangy next time. Easily the quickest, most moist, and simplest cake I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Absolutely, insanely good! I followed the recipe exactly, except I baked it in 2 9" rounds. It was so moist and flavorful, and got raves from my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I substituted a dark chocolate cake mix, and chocolate pudding for this recipe. I also used cream of coconut (found in Ethnic or liquor dept. of store) in place of veg. oil. Finally, I added coconut extract instead of vanilla to the recipe. This was so rich, so flavorful and sinful! My family loved every bite and it disappeared in record time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States