Coconut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
The cake was dense and fell in the middle. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I replaced half a cup of regular milk for coconut milk. Texture was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this cake for my bookclub meeting. It was a hit. Personally, I thought it was yummy but I do prefer a lighter less dense cake. I added 1 8oz can of drained crushed pineapple and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. The frosting was delicious but a requires more work. You MUST consistantly whisk not stir while cooking the frosting otherwise it gets lumpy quite quickly. It was graining using regular sugar. Even though my cake was covered in coconut shavings I could still taste a wee bit of the sugar granules. I will try using powdered sugar next time. oh yes add 1tsp of coconut extract into the frosting and batter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I used butter in the cake batter, for the shortening, and it was lovely. I made a coconut-pecan frosting for it, like a German chocolate cake would have, and it was delicious for my birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanz
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I absolutely loved this cake! I made it for my roommates birthday in the shape of R2D2 and topped it with the Almost professional butter cream icing and it was a total hit =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mosaicmama
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
i have never made a frosting like this before and not sure if mine came out the right consistency, but it tasted good. this cake tasted even better the next day. our dinner guests LOVED it. i added salt and used coconut milk, per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mosaicmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
After not wanting to do just another boxed cake for a special family guest, I picked this up out of my recipe box to try it. The reason I didn't give this cake 5 stars is because; 1. The frosting recipe didn't make enough for the whole cake, if you want to frost the sides, you need to double up the recipe. 2. The frosting is grainy and a bit flat tasting. I'd recommend buying coconut extract and using it in both the cake and frosting. Double the frosting recipe and do add some salt to the cake recipe for balance in flavor. I used sweetened coconut flakes that were already chopped up, and put some on top of the finished cake. All in all, a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duranie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gastlygoul
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I used coconut milk and I added crushed pineapple and garnished with pineapple rings, marachino cherries, and coconut flakes. The icing was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This cake came out great. My friend actually asked if I could make his wedding cake from this recipe. About 80 people ate it and not one complained. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I'm not sure if I used this cake recipe (looked at too many) but I give the frosting on this cake 5+ stars. It was easy to make, had a great, soft texture and was not overly sweet. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States