Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This cake was so delicious. A definite must for coconut lovers. The frosting was the absolute best. It was really simple to make, but looked like it took hours. I especially liked that I was able to make it so far ahead of time. I made it on a Monday night and we had it for Thanksgiving on Thursday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Everything that I read about this cake is true - its delicious! The whole family loved it and said that it was one of the best things I'd ever made! The only thing that I changed was to use low-fat whipped topping, and I followed the low-fat recipe for the white cake mix. If this is what my low-fat version tastes like...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This recipe is absolutely the easiest and very best coconut cake I have ever prepared, served and eaten! I recommend this recipe just as it is printed, although the second time I made it I used low-fat sour cream and low-fat Cool Whip and it tasted just as delicious. Kathy is right...it just gets better and better the longer it is refrigerated. I will never use another coconut cake recipe than this one. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This is one of my very favorite recipes ever - though I like to make it with a butter recipe cake mix. The recipe should state that frozen (or better: fresh!) coconut should be used... I think someone in the reviews used canned (sweetened) coconut - which would be far too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Try using fresh coconut. Use a corkscrew through the eye (soft spot) on the coconut and empty the coconut milk into a measuring cup. Use this milk as part of the liquid in the cake. To open the coconut hit it with a hammer to crack it. Clean and wash fresh coconut and grate. You can use a food processor to grate the coconut quickly. Use 1/4 to 1/2 cup of the coconut in the cake batter. I used lemon curd (lemon pie filling) between the cake layers. I only used two layers. This can be purchased canned, with the pie fillings or you can make your own. For the frosting I only used half a 8 oz. container of whipped topping, 1/2 cup sour cream and sugar to taste -- about 1/2 cup. I added about 1 cup of the shredded coconut to the frosting mixture. Toast some coconut to put on top of cake. Freeze leftover coconut in small zip-lock bag for a future project. This is an easy recipe compared to my usual coconut cake and it got rave reviews. Thanks Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
Mother-N-Law loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
this is one of my favorites and is always a crowd pleaser. if you like coconut, you'll love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This recipe is the best coconut cake I've tasted and one of the easiest. It's great as a company dessert because you make it a couple days in advance. Everyone loves it...I gave it a slightly lower ranking in the kids area because kids generally do not like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
I made this for my daughter's "hawaiian" birthday party and it was a hit. I made it according to the recipe. It was sweet but not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
It was really hard to wait 4 days to eat this cake. But it was well worth it, the cake was incredible. I am going to make it again using red food coloring for a baby shower I am hosting this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States