Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
Mother-N-Law loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Try using fresh coconut. Use a corkscrew through the eye (soft spot) on the coconut and empty the coconut milk into a measuring cup. Use this milk as part of the liquid in the cake. To open the coconut hit it with a hammer to crack it. Clean and wash fresh coconut and grate. You can use a food processor to grate the coconut quickly. Use 1/4 to 1/2 cup of the coconut in the cake batter. I used lemon curd (lemon pie filling) between the cake layers. I only used two layers. This can be purchased canned, with the pie fillings or you can make your own. For the frosting I only used half a 8 oz. container of whipped topping, 1/2 cup sour cream and sugar to taste -- about 1/2 cup. I added about 1 cup of the shredded coconut to the frosting mixture. Toast some coconut to put on top of cake. Freeze leftover coconut in small zip-lock bag for a future project. This is an easy recipe compared to my usual coconut cake and it got rave reviews. Thanks Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This cake was so delicious. A definite must for coconut lovers. The frosting was the absolute best. It was really simple to make, but looked like it took hours. I especially liked that I was able to make it so far ahead of time. I made it on a Monday night and we had it for Thanksgiving on Thursday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
this is one of my favorites and is always a crowd pleaser. if you like coconut, you'll love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This recipe is the best coconut cake I've tasted and one of the easiest. It's great as a company dessert because you make it a couple days in advance. Everyone loves it...I gave it a slightly lower ranking in the kids area because kids generally do not like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This recipe is absolutely the easiest and very best coconut cake I have ever prepared, served and eaten! I recommend this recipe just as it is printed, although the second time I made it I used low-fat sour cream and low-fat Cool Whip and it tasted just as delicious. Kathy is right...it just gets better and better the longer it is refrigerated. I will never use another coconut cake recipe than this one. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Everything that I read about this cake is true - its delicious! The whole family loved it and said that it was one of the best things I'd ever made! The only thing that I changed was to use low-fat whipped topping, and I followed the low-fat recipe for the white cake mix. If this is what my low-fat version tastes like...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
I made this for my daughter's "hawaiian" birthday party and it was a hit. I made it according to the recipe. It was sweet but not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This is one of my very favorite recipes ever - though I like to make it with a butter recipe cake mix. The recipe should state that frozen (or better: fresh!) coconut should be used... I think someone in the reviews used canned (sweetened) coconut - which would be far too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
It was really hard to wait 4 days to eat this cake. But it was well worth it, the cake was incredible. I am going to make it again using red food coloring for a baby shower I am hosting this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States