Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I baked this cake for Mother's Day, it is very good. I used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of Splenda and I used Low Fat Sour Cream and Low Fat Cool Whip. Although there was a little more sour cream taste than I wanted. I also only made two layers, and I put filling between them and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This cake is GREAT! It has the best frosting ever, according to my mom, and I agree. I took it to a gathering and one person said it was a "slice of heaven". Absolutely delicious, and very pretty too. Note: If you use sweetened coconut, as I did, decrease the sugar to 3/4 C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
My husband and my mom both love coconut cake and they said this is the best ever! It does take time to put together and to refrigerate, but trust me, it is well worth both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Very easy and good. Not too much coconut flavor...just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This recipe was so easy and produced a delicious, moist cake that my family absolutely loved! I could only find sweetened coconut, so I followed the advice of others and reduced the sugar to one cup and it turned out perfectly. I don't even like coconut usually, but I love this cake! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
heavenly with only 1 cup of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Excellent !!!! Even I usually do not like the coconut related food, I love this cake.But it is really too sweet. ( I used sweetend coconut flakes, and only 1 cup of sugar.) My HB does not like too sweet. Next time, I will reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
excellent recipe. 2 suggestions though...if you add coconut to the batter, consider using large bread pans for the baking so you have a rectangular pan. the addition of coconut makes the cake hard to cut without crumbling apart. also, if you use sweetened coconut, reduce the amount of sugar to 1 cup total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
this recipe flopped for me-sugar was grainy in the icing-everything was so sticky and gooey.sorry-I went exactly by recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Absolutely fabulous!!!--and I only stored it in the refrigerator for about an hour before tasting it. Will make again and again. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States