Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
With 3 small boys and a husband at home, I hardly take the time to submit reviews on anything, but this review needed to be entered. THIS CAKE IS EASY AND TASTE AWESOME!!!!!!! I made it for Easter dinner and it disappeared before we left the house for Aunt B's, so I had to make another. The kids blamed it on the Easter Bunny? I was just happy they enjoyed it so much. TRY IT, IT'S GREAT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was a good cake, but very sweet. I think I will half the filling next time and only cut into 2 layer, I did 3 and the cake was too thin. I also did not toast the coconut on the outside. We liked this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWHEEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This recipe was great. I added cream of coconut to the cake(suggestion from another recipe) which was a great touch. This cake should definitely be eaten at room temperature. When you 1st take it out the refrigerator, the icing and filling are very stiff. After letting it sit out, the icing and filling became creamy and the cake was extremely moist. TWO THUMBS UP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Rave reviews from dinner guests. I used frozen flaked coconut and cut sugar to one cup. This is one great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mbbdirks
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
My first attempt at a coconut cake & it was a huge hit for Easter. I told my husband that I needed to make it three days in advance and he named it Jesus cake because Jesus was resurrected on the third day and we were having it on Easter Sunday. I thought that was quite clever. I followed others' advice on cutting back on the sugar to 3/4 cup and I used the sweetened flaked coconut because that was all I had. We ended up with only a three layer cake because I discarded the top of one of the cakes to make it stack nicely. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I made the white cake using the "egg white" formula on the box. Made in sheet cake pan then split that once. This left enough icing to put inside with the filling. Couldn't find x-fine sugar as someone suggested, so I ran my regular sugar through the mini chopper. I think the longer the cake sits the more the sugar dissolves and becomes less grainy. I did let the mixture sit in fridge before assembly as someone suggested. It was very good and I would make it again. Easter guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIECRUMBLER
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I've never been much of a cake-baker. My cakes have always ended up resembling something of the Leaning Tower of Piza or a crater in the moon - just ridiculously deformed and extremely creative "works of art" that all the icing and frosting in the world could never make level. I hate to sound like an infomercial, but until I found this recipe, I thought I was doomed to cookie baking for the rest of my life. This recipe was extremely easy, and after reading the reviews, I made a note to use only 3/4 c. of sugar, since I was using a package of already sweetened coconut. And to avoid any of the grittiness that some of my fellow bakers experienced, I made sure to use extra fine granulated sugar (try C&H's Baker's Sugar)- it should melt right in. To ensure that the icing wouldn't be runny, I made sure not to overblend the filling and whipped cream, and refrigerated the mixture for about half an hour while the cake was cooling. After everything was assembled, the result was something actually visually stimulating, and although I did an awesomely bad job at splitting the layers, the filling does a wonderful job at concealing this fact, since the color of the filling blends in with the cake. For once, I ended up with a masterpiece that raked in so many compliments it inflated my ego. Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This is the best coconut cake recipe!! Super easy and super yummy! It really is true--the longer it sits the better, but it's hard to wait! I actually cut in to it after only one day of refrigeration, and it was great! But as the week went on, it just tasted better and better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is the best coconut cake I have ever tasted! I made it for Thanksgiving last year and my family has requested several since then. As the recipe says, it is much better if refrigerated for at least three days. The longer it sits the better it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States