Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was an okay cake. I'm not a huge coconut fan, but it was tasty enough. Just wouldn't bother making it again. Coconut lovers might like it much better. I'd give it a 3.75, but that's not an option. It wasn't hard to make and looked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
The best coconut cake I have ever tasted. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavenderdejectedmoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Oh my, this was heavenly! I think I'll reduce the sugar next time because it was quite rich, but really delicious. Thanks for a great recipe...bonus because it can be made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I followed this recipe verbatim. I thought this cake was beautiful. It tasted good too but, I was very disappointed that it completely fell apart when sliced (even using a spatula for support). It was dry! With all the rave reviews and 3 days of anticipation, I was very disappointed! Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Normally, I make everything from scratch and never use cake mixes, but this recipe can't be beat for fast, easy, and delicious! One change I recommend, though, is to use confectioners powdered sugar (10X) instead of regular granulated sugar, and to reduce it to 1 1/2 cups. It was still pretty sweet, but I wanted to be sure to have enough filling, so I counteracted that by adding a few extra tablespoons of sour cream. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I don't know if my version is "better", but I tried to make it a little lower in calories since my Mom is diabetic. I used a Pillsbury Moist Supreme Reduced Sugar cake mix and used Crisco canola oil with Omega 3 DHA oil and egg beaters. Per someone else's suggestion instead of water I used Lite Coconut Milk and then baked as directed. For the frosting I used 2 cups fat free sour cream, 1 cup Splenda sugar blend and a container of Lite Cool Whip with the coconut. Haven't tasted the whole thing together yet, but the cake smells divine and the frosting is awesome, but not TOO sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colkoala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
My sister-in-law gave me the recipe for this cake a few years ago and it is amazing! Don't let the short ingredient list fool you and definitely leave it in the frig for the full 3 days. Everytime I make it people ask me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferqueron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Yummy! I used lemon cake instead of white. I also used only about a cup of sugar for the filling. It sat in the fridge for three days until the party. My family loved it! The coconut filling was definitely my favorite part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this cake for New Years day and my huspband loved it! Coconut cake is one of his favorites and he said this is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States