Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
It was wonderful, so moist and flavorful. Now I'm going to make it and add strawberries in between the layers and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Absolutely fantastic. I'll never make another coconut cake. This one has it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherGriffis
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this cake for Easter to make a bunny cut-out cake. I followed the recipe exactly, except that, to the white cake mix, I added an extra egg and a cup of sour cream to enhance the flavor and texture of the cake for shaping into a bunny. It also helped it to taste less cake mix-y. This worked well, and the whipped topping frosting made it so easy to frost and decorate my bunny! The kids helped and had a ball, and everyone agreed that was cute AND tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
4.5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I made a half-batch of frosting, as I didn't split the layers of my cake. It was plenty for two layers, but it wouldn't stay on the cake even though I kept it in the fridge... The frosting puddled down the sides and pooled around the base of the cake, making for very poor presentation. I followed the directions, so I'm not sure what happened...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I loved it. I made a mistake & reversed the sugar & sour cream amounts. Ended up using 2 c. sour cream, 1 c. sugar & the coconut. It was absolutely a delicious mistake! When I make my cake mixes I use milk instead of water & 1/2 oil & apple sauce for the oil. You can't taste the apple flavor but it makes for a very moist cake. No matter what flavor including chocolate. I buy snack cups of unsweetned apple sauce and put oil in the bottom of the correct size measure cup. example: fill 1/2 with oil & a few tablespoons of apple sauce until it reaches the top of the measure cup. The cake is best mellowing over night. Actually any cake is better done the day before. It mellows & infuses the cake with more flavor. I made the filling the night before I made cake mix, just to save time. But, I noticed that the coconut absorbed the liquid from the sour cream & was really delicious & fluffy. I will do this again next time.I also think the sugar can be cut to 3/4 cup. I love sweet & this is plenty sweet. My friends devoured the cake in no time. My coffee gang loved it. Did you know you can toast coconut in a T-Fal type pan with no oil. The coconut has plenty of oil in it. Just use a medium heat & stir constantly & the coconut will toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
hands down best cake! don't hesitate to make this, it was perfect. I put a little less sugar than it called for in the sour cream mix and I covered the whole outside of the cake with coconut flakes. will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Since I am a cook, not much of a baker, because I don't like to follow measurements, I tried to make this cake for my 30th anniversary. Learned you should always read the reviews for extra tips before you start. I cut the sugar down by 3/4 of a cup, because I used sweetened coconut. Should use unsweetened coconut. Also, because I only had half the amount of coconut on hand that I needed, I just went with it. It was fine! If I make it again, I will use half the amount of coconut that it called for. Also, threw some coconut into the cake batter. I also didn't wait three days to cut into it. Could only wait 24 hours before the cake drove me crazy, wanting to try it. It is absolutely delicious! Will make it again, and again, and again!!! By the way, found this on a free app I got on my IPhone. The Spinner meal planner is genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
made this cake for Easter....DELICIOUS!!! Everyone really liked it...made a few changes to recipe after reading other reviews. Only used half the sugar and used powdered sugar instead of the granulated. Also made the filling the night before making the cake and let is sit in fridge to firm up before icing the layers. Will be definately making this again.I also used the coconut milk instead of the water in the cake mix and I was able to find the frozen coconut. It is not near as sweet as say Bakers but I did use the Bakers on top. My sister said this is now the cake she will be asking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I made a few changes, I used 1 1/3 cup of whipping cream, and added about a tsp of coconut & rum extract to the whipping cream, little more flavorful the 2nd time around with the variations. I also used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1 & 1/2 cups of the white sugar, just because I like brown sugar, tasted marvelous ;) !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cait

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States