Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Delicious! I found it too sweet, however, and have since reduced the sugar by half to suit personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is a wonderful cake! It is very moist, and I only let it sit for two days before serving. I did not add the coconut on top and it had plenty without that. I did add the zest of one lime to the filling to cut the sweetness just a bit. Everyone loved it and I can not wait for any excuse to make it again! Everything about this cake is delightful! Thank you Kathy!!! P.S. I am thinking about adding some crushed pineapple to the filling next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Could really taste the sugar. Not much coconut flavor. Too too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
It was wonderful, so moist and flavorful. Now I'm going to make it and add strawberries in between the layers and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Absolutely fantastic. I'll never make another coconut cake. This one has it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherGriffis
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made this cake for Easter to make a bunny cut-out cake. I followed the recipe exactly, except that, to the white cake mix, I added an extra egg and a cup of sour cream to enhance the flavor and texture of the cake for shaping into a bunny. It also helped it to taste less cake mix-y. This worked well, and the whipped topping frosting made it so easy to frost and decorate my bunny! The kids helped and had a ball, and everyone agreed that was cute AND tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
4.5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I made a half-batch of frosting, as I didn't split the layers of my cake. It was plenty for two layers, but it wouldn't stay on the cake even though I kept it in the fridge... The frosting puddled down the sides and pooled around the base of the cake, making for very poor presentation. I followed the directions, so I'm not sure what happened...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I loved it. I made a mistake & reversed the sugar & sour cream amounts. Ended up using 2 c. sour cream, 1 c. sugar & the coconut. It was absolutely a delicious mistake! When I make my cake mixes I use milk instead of water & 1/2 oil & apple sauce for the oil. You can't taste the apple flavor but it makes for a very moist cake. No matter what flavor including chocolate. I buy snack cups of unsweetned apple sauce and put oil in the bottom of the correct size measure cup. example: fill 1/2 with oil & a few tablespoons of apple sauce until it reaches the top of the measure cup. The cake is best mellowing over night. Actually any cake is better done the day before. It mellows & infuses the cake with more flavor. I made the filling the night before I made cake mix, just to save time. But, I noticed that the coconut absorbed the liquid from the sour cream & was really delicious & fluffy. I will do this again next time.I also think the sugar can be cut to 3/4 cup. I love sweet & this is plenty sweet. My friends devoured the cake in no time. My coffee gang loved it. Did you know you can toast coconut in a T-Fal type pan with no oil. The coconut has plenty of oil in it. Just use a medium heat & stir constantly & the coconut will toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
hands down best cake! don't hesitate to make this, it was perfect. I put a little less sugar than it called for in the sour cream mix and I covered the whole outside of the cake with coconut flakes. will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States