Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I have made this as is.... and the second time around I changed the filling I added a pkg of instant coconut cream pudding mix in the sour cream now it taste like heaven sent it... got rave reviews from alot of people for this one so will continue making it with the changes. thanks for the recipe we love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Delicious! I did substitute confectionary sugar for granulated and tinted the frosting pink. The white coconut sprinkled over the pink made for a beautiful birthday cake for my stepdaughter. She loved the whole cake but especially the frosting! My husband and son in law kept telling me how good it was and what a good job I did. This was a real compliment because I make cakes all the time and most times get one comment on how good the cake was, not all the fuss I got for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I've made this several times and everyone loves it. It is easy and absolutely delicious. I also love that you can make it in advance. It's not an easy cake to take though on a long trip. I took it from Indiana to Illinois on Mother's Day and I was shocked it was still together from Friday to Sunday. Four creamy layers that could slide but it made it. Wouldn't want to try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisselhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
The granulated sugar was gritting and the taste overall just was not good. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I loved this cake, very simple to make. I used sweetened coconut,and then reduced the sugar to around 1 cup. It was plenty sweet, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Delicious! I found it too sweet, however, and have since reduced the sugar by half to suit personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is a wonderful cake! It is very moist, and I only let it sit for two days before serving. I did not add the coconut on top and it had plenty without that. I did add the zest of one lime to the filling to cut the sweetness just a bit. Everyone loved it and I can not wait for any excuse to make it again! Everything about this cake is delightful! Thank you Kathy!!! P.S. I am thinking about adding some crushed pineapple to the filling next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Could really taste the sugar. Not much coconut flavor. Too too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
It was wonderful, so moist and flavorful. Now I'm going to make it and add strawberries in between the layers and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Absolutely fantastic. I'll never make another coconut cake. This one has it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherGriffis

Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States