Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by COOKIECRUMBLER
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I've never been much of a cake-baker. My cakes have always ended up resembling something of the Leaning Tower of Piza or a crater in the moon - just ridiculously deformed and extremely creative "works of art" that all the icing and frosting in the world could never make level. I hate to sound like an infomercial, but until I found this recipe, I thought I was doomed to cookie baking for the rest of my life. This recipe was extremely easy, and after reading the reviews, I made a note to use only 3/4 c. of sugar, since I was using a package of already sweetened coconut. And to avoid any of the grittiness that some of my fellow bakers experienced, I made sure to use extra fine granulated sugar (try C&H's Baker's Sugar)- it should melt right in. To ensure that the icing wouldn't be runny, I made sure not to overblend the filling and whipped cream, and refrigerated the mixture for about half an hour while the cake was cooling. After everything was assembled, the result was something actually visually stimulating, and although I did an awesomely bad job at splitting the layers, the filling does a wonderful job at concealing this fact, since the color of the filling blends in with the cake. For once, I ended up with a masterpiece that raked in so many compliments it inflated my ego. Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This is the best coconut cake recipe!! Super easy and super yummy! It really is true--the longer it sits the better, but it's hard to wait! I actually cut in to it after only one day of refrigeration, and it was great! But as the week went on, it just tasted better and better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is the best coconut cake I have ever tasted! I made it for Thanksgiving last year and my family has requested several since then. As the recipe says, it is much better if refrigerated for at least three days. The longer it sits the better it is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This is sooooooooo good. It does need at least 72 hours, and even at that the filling is a tad "grainy"...Once it's cut though, it's gone so I don't know about it lasting any longer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOOKSROGERS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I made this for a co-worker's birthday today and everyone is raving! Per other reviewer's comments I used only 1 cup of sugar and I used lite Sour Cream and Lite Cool Whip--and no one can tell the difference. Really a treat. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABRIELLAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
awesome! the best coconut cake that I have tried, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I am not crazy about coconut but this recipe is out of this world. I even use different flavor cake mixes and it adds just an extra punch to it. Lemon cake mix is my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I'm not sure what happened. I followed the recipe just as it was written and I had the same thing happen as someone else. The filling was gritty and when i mixed the cool whip in for the icing it turned totally runny and goey. i have never failed this badly at a recipe before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I baked this cake for Mother's Day, it is very good. I used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of Splenda and I used Low Fat Sour Cream and Low Fat Cool Whip. Although there was a little more sour cream taste than I wanted. I also only made two layers, and I put filling between them and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States