Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by TN Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made this cake for my MIL birthday and everyone loved it. I added cream of coconut to the cake and to the filling. It was too sweet for a few people but otherwise everyone raved about it. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This cake is a crowd pleaser every time! I add some coconut to the batter as well. I do not seperate the frosting, I mix all the frosting ing. together. It is easier when making cupcakes to do this and I find the frosting ends up fluffier. This is a standby for our family. At Christmas I make it in the shpe of a tree and we decorate with candy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This turned out excellent. My husband who doesn't like coconut cake couldn't get enough. I added some of the coconut to the cake batter and it added really great taste and texture to the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Briggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
With 3 small boys and a husband at home, I hardly take the time to submit reviews on anything, but this review needed to be entered. THIS CAKE IS EASY AND TASTE AWESOME!!!!!!! I made it for Easter dinner and it disappeared before we left the house for Aunt B's, so I had to make another. The kids blamed it on the Easter Bunny? I was just happy they enjoyed it so much. TRY IT, IT'S GREAT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was a good cake, but very sweet. I think I will half the filling next time and only cut into 2 layer, I did 3 and the cake was too thin. I also did not toast the coconut on the outside. We liked this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWHEEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
This recipe was great. I added cream of coconut to the cake(suggestion from another recipe) which was a great touch. This cake should definitely be eaten at room temperature. When you 1st take it out the refrigerator, the icing and filling are very stiff. After letting it sit out, the icing and filling became creamy and the cake was extremely moist. TWO THUMBS UP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Rave reviews from dinner guests. I used frozen flaked coconut and cut sugar to one cup. This is one great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mbbdirks
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
My first attempt at a coconut cake & it was a huge hit for Easter. I told my husband that I needed to make it three days in advance and he named it Jesus cake because Jesus was resurrected on the third day and we were having it on Easter Sunday. I thought that was quite clever. I followed others' advice on cutting back on the sugar to 3/4 cup and I used the sweetened flaked coconut because that was all I had. We ended up with only a three layer cake because I discarded the top of one of the cakes to make it stack nicely. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I made the white cake using the "egg white" formula on the box. Made in sheet cake pan then split that once. This left enough icing to put inside with the filling. Couldn't find x-fine sugar as someone suggested, so I ran my regular sugar through the mini chopper. I think the longer the cake sits the more the sugar dissolves and becomes less grainy. I did let the mixture sit in fridge before assembly as someone suggested. It was very good and I would make it again. Easter guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIECRUMBLER
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I've never been much of a cake-baker. My cakes have always ended up resembling something of the Leaning Tower of Piza or a crater in the moon - just ridiculously deformed and extremely creative "works of art" that all the icing and frosting in the world could never make level. I hate to sound like an infomercial, but until I found this recipe, I thought I was doomed to cookie baking for the rest of my life. This recipe was extremely easy, and after reading the reviews, I made a note to use only 3/4 c. of sugar, since I was using a package of already sweetened coconut. And to avoid any of the grittiness that some of my fellow bakers experienced, I made sure to use extra fine granulated sugar (try C&H's Baker's Sugar)- it should melt right in. To ensure that the icing wouldn't be runny, I made sure not to overblend the filling and whipped cream, and refrigerated the mixture for about half an hour while the cake was cooling. After everything was assembled, the result was something actually visually stimulating, and although I did an awesomely bad job at splitting the layers, the filling does a wonderful job at concealing this fact, since the color of the filling blends in with the cake. For once, I ended up with a masterpiece that raked in so many compliments it inflated my ego. Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States