Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This is a great cake & it most definitely is best if you leave it refrigerated for the three days recommended. We used to have it every year at Christmas but it's been a while since I made it. I always use a yellow cake mix & I also add crushed pineapple in heavy syrup, drained but with a little bit of the syrup left, to the mixture that goes between the layers (not too much syrup or it is too soupy). Over the three days, We called it sour-cream coconut dream cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I made this cake with a coconut flavored cake mix. I only used slightly over one cup of sugar in the sour cream, and used less than half of the flaked coconut. The sugar gelled up well overnight-no graininess at all! The filling seemed really runny, but once poured over the cut layers, it soaked into the cake really well. The best part of this cake is the cool whip/sugar/sour cream frosting! It compares to getting the whipped frostings at bakeries! I could eat it with a spoon! I think the fact that I used a coconut cake mix, in addition to the coconut flakes made it a bit of overkill. Next time I will stick to the recipe and use white cake. This cake was definitely a hit with my guests, and super moist! I will definitely be making again...And will be making the frosting (minus the coconut) to use on a red velvet cake. This finding a permanent place in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Awesome....I received rave reviews from everyone at work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leilani13
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Great, easy coconut cake. I also used 1/2-1 cup of sugar. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leilani13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I made this for a friend's Birthday and it was a huge hit! Only I knew how easy it was! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Delicious! Our family wants to make this a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldenlocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
The coconut cake is crutial to our thankgiving dinner and i must say this was a huge hit! i did use several of the alterations suggested. I cut the sugar to 1 cup and made it superfine using my chopper. I also didn't think there was enough filling so I 1 1/2 it. fantastic recipe! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBIEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly - was perfect! 2 Thumbs up from the whole family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI7920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TN Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I made this cake for my MIL birthday and everyone loved it. I added cream of coconut to the cake and to the filling. It was too sweet for a few people but otherwise everyone raved about it. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This cake is a crowd pleaser every time! I add some coconut to the batter as well. I do not seperate the frosting, I mix all the frosting ing. together. It is easier when making cupcakes to do this and I find the frosting ends up fluffier. This is a standby for our family. At Christmas I make it in the shpe of a tree and we decorate with candy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States