Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe - my only adjustment would be to use confectioner's sugar. The original recipe callas for white/granulated sugar, which give the frosting a gritty texture. Not bad, but the confectioner's sugar may eliminate it. Otherwise, an awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This cake is delish and everyone loved it but it is way too sweet. I even reduced the amount of sugar to one cup and it was still too sweet. DON'T put in the full two cups of sugar! Next time I make this I will use half cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I was looking for a great coconut cake recipe and I have found it! This cake just gets better and better each day it sits in the refrigerator. It was moist, yet light and not too sweet. I personally loved the toasted coconut added on top. Looks and tastes fantastic! A must try recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was probably the best looking cake I have ever made. It turned out perfect. I was sooo suprised. The only change I made was I cut back on some of the sugar after reading some of the reviews. I did make this cake about 4 days early, and everyone LOVED it. I couldn't believe how good it tasted. It was very easy to put together. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This is the easiest and best cake ever! I have made two in the last week, one for a raffle and the other for home, they were both a hit. Thanks for the great recipe. This will be made many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
GREAT SIMPLE recipe!! I used 2/3 cup sugar because I mistakenly bought SWEETENED coconut, and its still plenty sweet! Added a little lemon zest--yum!! Baked it in a bundt pan and made layers in a bowl to save fridge room!! Thank you, Kathy! Elinor, Daytona Beach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Everyone loved it. The frosting was delicious. I added some toasted almonds to the top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I made this at Christmas and Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassie99050810

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Point Pleasant, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
this was the best cake I have ever baked. I was so proud of myself and my guest was even prouder. kathy girl!!!!! look foward to more of your recipies. It was delicious and i normally dont bake, now I want to bake this for all my family and friends because they enjoyed it soooo much. I do not chat on line but I had to thank you. baby baker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this for an auction at church. It sold for a great deal of money, and the family that bought it let me know how very pleased they were with the cake. Their eight year old girl, a VERY pickey eater, loved it and kept asking for more. They bragged so on the cake that I was forced to make one for myself. I was NOT disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States