Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
made this cake for Easter....DELICIOUS!!! Everyone really liked it...made a few changes to recipe after reading other reviews. Only used half the sugar and used powdered sugar instead of the granulated. Also made the filling the night before making the cake and let is sit in fridge to firm up before icing the layers. Will be definately making this again.I also used the coconut milk instead of the water in the cake mix and I was able to find the frozen coconut. It is not near as sweet as say Bakers but I did use the Bakers on top. My sister said this is now the cake she will be asking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I made a few changes, I used 1 1/3 cup of whipping cream, and added about a tsp of coconut & rum extract to the whipping cream, little more flavorful the 2nd time around with the variations. I also used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1 & 1/2 cups of the white sugar, just because I like brown sugar, tasted marvelous ;) !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cait

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Mixed reviews on this one...Came out correctly, but people either love it or hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyJean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I have made this cake for many years and everyone loves it. The only difference is that my recipe calls for coconut from the freezer section. The coconut taste like fresh coconut with no sugar added. Sometimes I use chocolate cake mix which is wonderful. It may be hard to wait 3 days, but the wait is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I make this cake every year for Christmas and Easter and everyone loves it. My recipe calls for 2 six oz. packages of frozen coconut and I think that tastes much better than the packaged coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I've made this cake for years. My Grandma would make several and freeze then give away during xmas. I do cut the sugar by a 1/2 cup, and I also chill the sugar,sour cream, coconut mixture all day in fridge to keep cake from sliding. Once I build the cake I then chill again for 24 hours. This cake gets better as it sits. I never eat coconut cake any other way. My husband 'hates' coconut, but he loves this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Won't make coconut cake any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great recipe, I let it stand in the fridge for 2 hours, it was better than on the next day, I also added 2 cups of sour cream instead of 1 cup, also it defenetely came out way too sweet(and I love sweets), so next time I'll decrise sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I have made this cake twice since Easter. Both times it got rave reviews. It is good but very sweet and rich. The second time I made it I added raspberry jam to the filling. It tasted heavenly but turned the filling a strange gray-lavender color. I c Coconut lovers will not be disappointed. I will make this cake again and again. It is a great "special occasion" cake. Easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was an okay cake. I'm not a huge coconut fan, but it was tasty enough. Just wouldn't bother making it again. Coconut lovers might like it much better. I'd give it a 3.75, but that's not an option. It wasn't hard to make and looked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States