Coconut Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Mixed reviews on this one...Came out correctly, but people either love it or hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyJean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I have made this cake for many years and everyone loves it. The only difference is that my recipe calls for coconut from the freezer section. The coconut taste like fresh coconut with no sugar added. Sometimes I use chocolate cake mix which is wonderful. It may be hard to wait 3 days, but the wait is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I make this cake every year for Christmas and Easter and everyone loves it. My recipe calls for 2 six oz. packages of frozen coconut and I think that tastes much better than the packaged coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I've made this cake for years. My Grandma would make several and freeze then give away during xmas. I do cut the sugar by a 1/2 cup, and I also chill the sugar,sour cream, coconut mixture all day in fridge to keep cake from sliding. Once I build the cake I then chill again for 24 hours. This cake gets better as it sits. I never eat coconut cake any other way. My husband 'hates' coconut, but he loves this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Won't make coconut cake any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Great recipe, I let it stand in the fridge for 2 hours, it was better than on the next day, I also added 2 cups of sour cream instead of 1 cup, also it defenetely came out way too sweet(and I love sweets), so next time I'll decrise sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I have made this cake twice since Easter. Both times it got rave reviews. It is good but very sweet and rich. The second time I made it I added raspberry jam to the filling. It tasted heavenly but turned the filling a strange gray-lavender color. I c Coconut lovers will not be disappointed. I will make this cake again and again. It is a great "special occasion" cake. Easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This was an okay cake. I'm not a huge coconut fan, but it was tasty enough. Just wouldn't bother making it again. Coconut lovers might like it much better. I'd give it a 3.75, but that's not an option. It wasn't hard to make and looked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
The best coconut cake I have ever tasted. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavenderdejectedmoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Oh my, this was heavenly! I think I'll reduce the sugar next time because it was quite rich, but really delicious. Thanks for a great recipe...bonus because it can be made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States