Coconut Cake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I was wanting coconut something. Not enough walnuts in the house , so substituted half with raisins. Turned out just fine, sweet and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I had to make something for us to take to Sunday brunch and I didn't want to rush out to the store. This fit the bill perfectly! I did take other reviewers advice and used more butter in the crust; it was also salted butter, which I think helped balance the sweet topping with the salty crust. I did not have walnuts, so I used the pecans that I had on hand. All in all, it came out well. Thank you Rayna for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
these were very bland! I had to frost with chocolate frosting so my family would eat them. also the mixture of walnuts and coconut was abit odd-tasting. i would never make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Quick, easy and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and they came out great. I used an 8x11-inch pan, which I sprayed with Pam, and the bars didn't stick at all. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These turned out good, everyone liked them. I used 5 tbls of butter in the crust and spread it thin in a 9x13 greased pan and it turned out fine. Mine were really sweet I used left over ground walnuts from a nut roll and forgot I added sugar already to it! So the nut kinda carmelized on top. Good, but you could not eat a big piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Home Town: Eagle Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
The topping on this recipe is great when you use half the sugar and sweetened coconut. As for the bottom crust, is was tasteless and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Gooey top on a dry, hard, dryish crust. Despite coconut, vanilla is the predominant flavor. Was well liked by colleagues, but cleaning the pan was horrific. Be sure to grease, or line the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I used pecans instead of walnuts, so it was kind of like coconut pecan pie. I increased the butter in the crust to 5 Tbs and it turned out great. I did make a mistake the first time of using sweetened coconut, so it was too sweet for me. I recommend unsweetened. Very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
Overall, this IS a very yummy treat I will be making over and over again in the future. But I agree that the crust does not hold together well, but I found that by using 1/3 c butter in the crust and another TB of sugar did hold it together perfectly. I would also suggest using small eggs- I think I used Large ones and the topping was a little "omelet-y".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
These are very easy to make and very delicious. For a variety add some cocoa. We had no problem with the crust falling apart. Works well as a double recipe in a 13 x 9 pan as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States