Coconut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This is my Father's favorite candy for the holiday. I use a 2-qt. pyrex measuring bowl to cook the brittle in and I use raw virginia peanuts. No hot pan/bowl & I use a wooden spoon to stir. Add peanuts last 2 min. of cooking time. works every time!! Thanks for the recipe post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, this is the only time i have enjoyed making brittle. Very easy and very tasty, i substituted with pecans, came out little darker and very good. Would definitly recommend this recipe to friends, very fast and excellent taste. Thanks again. Now the man of the house is even helping me make my christmas candy. Its so very easy, but becareful the glass dish gets very hot. Thanks again, making brittle isnt that bad after all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Five stars for ease and taste! I have never made candy before and I am so glad this is the first thing that I tried. I used to big of a baking pan though and I had to scoop it together in the middle and flatten it out. By the way don't use anything plastic when preparing this recipe. I ruined a scraper when flattening the candy. I will make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Tasted great! First I used a micowave safe plastic dish which the bottom melted right off, that was a bit of a mess in my microwave. Then I used a glass dish and everything was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This is really easy and tastes heavenly. Definitely will become a regular favorite in my Christmas tins. A nice spin on the famous peanut brittle. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Wonderful! I'm going to make a second batch right now......no way this will last long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Oh my goodness is this recipe YUMMY! I was making it for a tropical-themed party, and no sooner did I finish making it (and tasting it!) when I realized that it was gonna go WAY too fast, so I quickly whipped up a second batch. Some changes you might find helpful: 1) I increased the butter to 2 Tbsp., just to enhance the buttery taste; and 2) I substituted the 1 tsp. vanilla extract for 1/2 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. coconut extracts. Another experiment I tried: I cut back on the macadamia nuts a little bit, and added some chopped toasted coconut covered cashews for my second batch. The toasted coconut flavor permeated the entire brittle! Thanks for such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Yummy.....I used extra butter in the pan.....I mean you only live once :) ...and instead of the macadamias, I used cashews...how yummy! I am going to try this recipe again but use almonds next time. You never know...Quick and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Very simple, very quick, very tasty. This is similar to other microwave brittle recipes, but the macadamia nuts add a buttery flavor sometimes lacking in others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States