Coconut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
this is a great recipe, loved making it in the microwave. made a great gift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This was good, and very easy, but it didn't taste very coconutty. Maybe if I ever make this again I would add coconut extract instead of vanilla, I don't know. The candy itself with the nuts was good, but did not taste like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Different tasting. I burnt them the first time I tried. I had to reduce the time 2 + 2 + 1. I would not make this if there was ANY kids around. And maybe wear some hot pad gloves to protect yourself. Be careful it is a very easy way to burn yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I tried to make this, following the directions, but 2 minutes into the cook time with the nuts in the mixture, I smelled that something was burning. I stopped it and pulled the mixture out. Smoke was billowing out of my microwave. I read all the reviews, ran to the store, and tried again. This is what I learned: do not use Dry Roasted Macadamias, use RAW macadamias; when you add the nuts, cook it a minute at a time, stirring and checking after each minute, mine only took two minutes for that part of the recipe. It was difficult to spread. I was thinking that next time I might stick the baking sheet with the coconut under the broiler for the last minute of the microwaving process. Hopefully the hot pan and hot coconut will allow me to spread the brittle mixture better. However, the bottom line is that everyone loved it and it was gone by the end of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Reilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Quite easy but my microwave must be in the 1200w range and the cook time should have been less than stated for that kind of power. I had a bit of a hard time spreading it out over the coconut because it had already cooked a bit too much. Taste was nice, I used pecans and walnuts, I think the macadamia nuts would have been much better. I would like to try pistachios one day, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Turned out very good. Huge hit at our Christmas Eve party. Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Oh, just yummy! And easy. It made a small batch that didn't quite cover the bottom of an 8x8 inch pan -- but I wouldn't try to microwave any larger quantity at a time because of the danger of spilling. I recommend a heavy pyrex cup with a handle, and make sure you can grab it with a gloved hand BEFORE you heat it. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is a perfect recipe. It turned out so good. Guess my microwave is in sinc with the one in the recipe. I made it twice and will definitely make it many more times!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilacorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakdale, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Yes, this was easy and yes, it seems to be tasty but it's obvious that my microwave does not have the same wattage as the successful reviews mentioned here. I followed the directions exactly and I guess my brittle did not reach a high enough temperature while cooking because it's about the texture of a really soft caramel. A little thicker than caramel syrup but not as solid as a soft caramel candy. I am bummed. I had made a double recipe because I thought it sounded like a sure thing. That's a lot of expensive ingredients down the drain. It would have been nice to know the correct temperature needed of the syrup while cooking. Sigh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This stuff is wonderful! Easy to make and SOOO good. It is the latest addition to the 20+ Christmas baskets I give out every year. Other items I include: about 10 different kinds of cookies, homemade freezer jams, my famous lemon-cornmeal bread, candied pecans, and some kind of homemade ornament. Anyway, I made the brittle just as the recipe directs and put about 7 good sized pieces in each clear small gift bag and tied it with pretty ribbon. It was a big hit! Thanks...an update 12/23/10: This year I used coarsely chopped cashews and cut back from 4 minutes in the microwave to 3 after adding the nuts. Perfection. I made 4 batches and all turned out well. BTW, I use heavy duty foil and butter that. Makes for easy cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States