Coconut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This very well could be the most delicious thing I ever tasted!!! Mine for some reason was ready in about 40 min, not 1 hour. I had no fresh coconut so I added 1/2 cup extra flaked coconut and used buttermilk bread instead of french.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I loved this recipe!! My changes were...1 can coconut milk, 1 cup 2% milk, 1 stick melted butter. I used all flaked coconut and one tablespoon vanilla with one tablespoon coconut extract. I also, added a can of pineapple tidbits and made a Hard Sauce to go with it. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I layered bread cubes (try cinnamon or other flavored breads), dried fruits including raisins and diced apricots and flaked coconut in about 3 layers in a greased glass casserole. Mixed liquids (used coconut extract and no coconut milk) and almond, rum and vanilla extracts. I also cut back on sugar by 1/2. Oh yes, used buttermilk with the eggs rather than cream or milk. Poured liquids over top and let set 30 minutes... be sure to press cubes down into liquid every 10 minutes or so! Dotted with butter and baked... yum. Everyone who tasted it said it was incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
What a super flavorful twist on bread pudding! Very very sweet though. I tasted it before baking and added a cup of milk and another egg to tone down the sweetness and was still very sweet, but still very good. I think I will skip the sugar next time since there is plenty of sugar in the condensed milk. I used leftover ends and pieces of 4 or 5 different loaves of bread, added cranberries, used shredded coconut, subbed vanilla extract and may add pineapples next time also. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
It was amazingly good, though I put in 2 shots of Bacardi 8-year dark rum because I like the rum taste. It was big enough of a hit that it was gone far before all the other dessert trays at our pot-luck. 5 stars for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
WOW! The best bread pudding I have ever had! We had eaten 3/4 of the pan before it was cool. Didn't have powered suger so I used splenda. I also used 1 can coconut milk and the rest lowfat milk. No fresh coconut used extra flake and tossed in a hand full of semi sweet chocolate chips. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I used this on leftover hotdog buns after a picnic and created quite a stir! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hazenfree
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Delicious...even when you're not a bread pudding fan. I used left-over pannetone (Italian Holiday Bread) and it was delicious. The changes I made were that I cut the coconut milk to 1 can, substituted half and half and added pinneaple tidbits (about 3/4 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazenfree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I am not sure what I did wrong here but this had very very very little taste. I used flaked coconut b/c the fresh was too hard to cut and I was limited on time. I also didn't have coconut milk so I used whole milk. Maybe that was the problem. But, it just was so so and I ended up throwing most of it out because no one was eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
this was really delicious.its hard to find coconut milk in my country but i can substitute it with milk by using extra flaked coconut.ymmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States