Coconut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I cut the sugar in half, used egg beaters instead of real eggs, omitted the yolk and the butter, and a splash of Malibu Rum instead of the extract. Next time I'll substitute one of the cans of coconut milk for whole milk or half and half and probably add some crushed pineapple too. Oh, I used french toast bread instead of regular bread as well. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANELLGUISTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I used all flaked coconut because I did not have fresh. Also, I used vanilla extract for the same reason. It turned out great. I shared this with my teacher friends and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGOHANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
You have to REALLY love coconut to make this.... I used all flake coconut, and substituted vanilla extract. The 2 TBSP was WAY too much- next time I'd cut it to 1 TBSP. Overall, great texture, great flavor if you like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Sprinkled Golden Raisins on top before first baking...Came out beautiful..used all flake for fresh, followed rest exactly...TOO MUCH BREAD AND NEEDS A SAUCE/PUDDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I used this on leftover hotdog buns after a picnic and created quite a stir! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
It was amazingly good, though I put in 2 shots of Bacardi 8-year dark rum because I like the rum taste. It was big enough of a hit that it was gone far before all the other dessert trays at our pot-luck. 5 stars for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Quick and easy - nice and different from the basic bread pudding recipes - we put a brandy hard sauce and sprinkled sliced almonds on top -- look forward to making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
What a super flavorful twist on bread pudding! Very very sweet though. I tasted it before baking and added a cup of milk and another egg to tone down the sweetness and was still very sweet, but still very good. I think I will skip the sugar next time since there is plenty of sugar in the condensed milk. I used leftover ends and pieces of 4 or 5 different loaves of bread, added cranberries, used shredded coconut, subbed vanilla extract and may add pineapples next time also. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I am not sure what I did wrong here but this had very very very little taste. I used flaked coconut b/c the fresh was too hard to cut and I was limited on time. I also didn't have coconut milk so I used whole milk. Maybe that was the problem. But, it just was so so and I ended up throwing most of it out because no one was eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I made only half-portion in 8x8 glass form, omitted the extra egg yolk and also used flaked coconut instead of fresh. It was good but not to die for, especially considering the time it takes from start to end - almost 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States