Coconut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
You have to REALLY love coconut to make this.... I used all flake coconut, and substituted vanilla extract. The 2 TBSP was WAY too much- next time I'd cut it to 1 TBSP. Overall, great texture, great flavor if you like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Sprinkled Golden Raisins on top before first baking...Came out beautiful..used all flake for fresh, followed rest exactly...TOO MUCH BREAD AND NEEDS A SAUCE/PUDDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I used this on leftover hotdog buns after a picnic and created quite a stir! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
It was amazingly good, though I put in 2 shots of Bacardi 8-year dark rum because I like the rum taste. It was big enough of a hit that it was gone far before all the other dessert trays at our pot-luck. 5 stars for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Quick and easy - nice and different from the basic bread pudding recipes - we put a brandy hard sauce and sprinkled sliced almonds on top -- look forward to making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
What a super flavorful twist on bread pudding! Very very sweet though. I tasted it before baking and added a cup of milk and another egg to tone down the sweetness and was still very sweet, but still very good. I think I will skip the sugar next time since there is plenty of sugar in the condensed milk. I used leftover ends and pieces of 4 or 5 different loaves of bread, added cranberries, used shredded coconut, subbed vanilla extract and may add pineapples next time also. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I am not sure what I did wrong here but this had very very very little taste. I used flaked coconut b/c the fresh was too hard to cut and I was limited on time. I also didn't have coconut milk so I used whole milk. Maybe that was the problem. But, it just was so so and I ended up throwing most of it out because no one was eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I made only half-portion in 8x8 glass form, omitted the extra egg yolk and also used flaked coconut instead of fresh. It was good but not to die for, especially considering the time it takes from start to end - almost 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
Husband absolutely loved this, with or without hard sauce. i added raisins and some pineapple, just because i had some left. Thanks for a keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
Beautiful dessert. Used flake for fresh, ditched the extra egg yolk and 1T of the sugar. Could have even used less sugar for maximum devourability, but still lovely to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States