Coconut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I have to say that my all-time favorite dessert is bread pudding. Based on the three-star rating, this is not the best. It's not bad, but it's not the best. With that in mind, here are somethings you must know about this recipe: 1. You must like coconut. 2. You must REALLY like coconut. All in all, it's not bad, but in the end, it tastes like a generic crumb donut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hazenfree
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Delicious...even when you're not a bread pudding fan. I used left-over pannetone (Italian Holiday Bread) and it was delicious. The changes I made were that I cut the coconut milk to 1 can, substituted half and half and added pinneaple tidbits (about 3/4 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazenfree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My family really liked this. I didn't have coconut extract, so I added vanilla instead. I also didn't want to bother with the fresh coconut so I added a bit more sweetened flaked coconut as well as about a 1/3 of a can of cream of coconut. I think next time I will add the coconut extract as it could've used just a little bit more of a 'kick' of coconut flavor. The toasted coconut on top really did the trick for me - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I really liked this but unfortunately no one in my family likes coconut. I brought it to work and they devoured it. Smells delicious cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swampscott, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
this was really delicious.its hard to find coconut milk in my country but i can substitute it with milk by using extra flaked coconut.ymmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
All I can say is "EXCELLENT"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Everyone just loved this one. I have a lot of friends that are wild about Coconut. So, anytime I find a great Coconut Recipe they love me.... LOL.... Next time I want to try adding Dried Pineapple to the Coconut Bread Pudding. Yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I cut the sugar in half, used egg beaters instead of real eggs, omitted the yolk and the butter, and a splash of Malibu Rum instead of the extract. Next time I'll substitute one of the cans of coconut milk for whole milk or half and half and probably add some crushed pineapple too. Oh, I used french toast bread instead of regular bread as well. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANELLGUISTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I used all flaked coconut because I did not have fresh. Also, I used vanilla extract for the same reason. It turned out great. I shared this with my teacher friends and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIGOHANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
You have to REALLY love coconut to make this.... I used all flake coconut, and substituted vanilla extract. The 2 TBSP was WAY too much- next time I'd cut it to 1 TBSP. Overall, great texture, great flavor if you like coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States