Coconut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Yum, yum, yum! I didn't pay close attention to the ingredient list before diving into mixing. When I realized I only had one can of coconut milk (not condensed milk as one reviewer said--no wonder hers came out too sweet!), so I substituted a cup or so of heavy cream for the second can of coconut milk. I also didn't have coconut extract, so I used a tsp or so of vanilla extract. I also didn't have nutmeg, so I used allspice. My pet peeve on recipe review sites is when someone changes 12 things and then gives the recipe a bad rap. I'm here to say that this one is delicious and hard to mess up even when you are ingredient-challenged! I used my convection oven at 300 degrees, and it took about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The coconut gods are pleased (and so was my husband). Be sure to cook this thoroughly and feel free to turn the bread a few times after starting to soak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was my first time making a bread pudding, and it turned out great. I took it to our chuch potluck, and brought the pan home empty! I didn't have fresh coconut, so just used flaked. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Loved it! Was easy and has lots of potential for embellishments. Thank you Yoda for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Yum! I made this as written, except I used all flaked coconut because I couldn't get any fresh. I topped this with a little coconut syrup and whipped cream when I served it (just to be totally evil), but it is also perfect on it's own. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I love this recipe. I used egg bread from Easter the first time and used fruit bread I got the second time and I’m making it now and I’m using cinnamon raisin bagels and strawberry bagels. I can’t wait to try it. Also when it is fresh out of the oven wait about 5 to 10 mins and then cut a piece and out whipped cream on it. That is to die for mmm. Cheri Florida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I make something similar to this; but it's actually a rice pudding with coconut, cream, and condensed sweetened milk. It comes out tasting a little like flan custard, coconut butterscotch, and bread pudding. Next time I'll just make that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly and it was Delish!!! I love bread pudding and coconut so to add them together is wonderful - Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
My husband loves bread pudding and tries it everywhere we go. I have only made a traditional one once and decided to try this on Easter. It was awesome! I couldn't find coconut milk around here so I used sweetened condensed milk mixed with some plain milk...the coconut milk would have made it even better. I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Excellent, I am coconut by design.. so naturally I just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States