Coconut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
AWESOME! Just made this last night and the WHOLE family thought it was great. Thanks for sharing. I was able to buy a whole coconut from my local grocery store. My husband poked a few holes in the top, drained the "milk" inside, then just cracked it open. After it's been open I just used a butter knife to pry out the white "meat", and then shredded it. This is a keeper! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was very good. If you like coconut, you will like this. One of my girls is a big coconut fan but it must taste like real coconut not just flavored. Followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I switched up just a few things like instead of coconut essence, I put a bit of good vanilla essence. I also added more fresh shredded coconut than sweetened shredded coconut, oh a not white sugar just brown and a touch of confectioner's sugar with the toasted coconut on top. It was really delicious! Sweet but not overly and there was great texture too. I will make again. I can see this also going really good with some vanilla ice cream. easy and a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My boys (21 and 19) loved this recipe! Gone in minutes. I did add extra coconut though. We had never had bread pudding before so it was a great introduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
We absolutely loved this recipe. The coconut tweak was delicious. Used french loaf bread but really didn't need the whole 1 lb., just enough to coat evenly and not make a mushy mess at the end. Did not have any fresh coconut on hand so just used shredded sweetened. I would definitely recommend using coconut extract (if you love coconut). For the coconut lover, its worth it! Pairs wonderfully when warmed with vanilla bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
It was really good - I added about 3/4 cups of chocolate chips - delicious! Very easy - it was my first time making bread pudding and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajengels814

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Other than using all packaged coconut instead of the packaged/fresh combo, I made this as directed and it was quite a hit for Easter brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Good recipe..I used only 1/2 TBSP of the coconut extract, and added 1 TBSP of vanilla extract. I also followed the other reader's advice and used only 1 can of coconut milk. I added 1 cup of milk + 1/4 cup heavy cream. Then mixed in 1/2 cup of chopped pecans and 1/2 cup crushed pineapple. Baking time was about 50 minutes. It came out so moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I did change things up because I was using what I had. I only had one can of coconut milk so I put in a cup of milk and almost a stick of butter like another reviewer did. I did not have fresh coconut so I used sweetened flaked coconut. I also added a handful of chocolate chips. Lastly, I used bread I had around the kitchen that was not being eaten by anyone- potato hot dog buns and two slices of white bread. Regardless of all the changes, it was delicious and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
If you love coconut, you'll love this! I made a few changes so I'll start with that. I didn't have coconut extract or flavoring so I used 2 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. rum flavoring (sort of Pina Colada type idea here). Didn't have fresh coconut but had a can of "young coconut in syrup" so I cut it into fine slivers and used 1/2 C. of that. My hubby likes raisins in bread pudding but I didn't think they would go well in this so I used a cup of pineapple chunks and cut each chunk in 4 pieces (measured after cutting up chunks). I had leftover Croissants and just some plain bread so I used that. Next time I'll just use 5 eggs instead of wasting a white because I don't think it would have made a difference. This is a very forgiving recipe so you can experiment with it. This was awesome - Hubby was soooooo happy! If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. Yoda, you are brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States