Coconut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
AWESOME! Just made this last night and the WHOLE family thought it was great. Thanks for sharing. I was able to buy a whole coconut from my local grocery store. My husband poked a few holes in the top, drained the "milk" inside, then just cracked it open. After it's been open I just used a butter knife to pry out the white "meat", and then shredded it. This is a keeper! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was very good. If you like coconut, you will like this. One of my girls is a big coconut fan but it must taste like real coconut not just flavored. Followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I switched up just a few things like instead of coconut essence, I put a bit of good vanilla essence. I also added more fresh shredded coconut than sweetened shredded coconut, oh a not white sugar just brown and a touch of confectioner's sugar with the toasted coconut on top. It was really delicious! Sweet but not overly and there was great texture too. I will make again. I can see this also going really good with some vanilla ice cream. easy and a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My boys (21 and 19) loved this recipe! Gone in minutes. I did add extra coconut though. We had never had bread pudding before so it was a great introduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
We absolutely loved this recipe. The coconut tweak was delicious. Used french loaf bread but really didn't need the whole 1 lb., just enough to coat evenly and not make a mushy mess at the end. Did not have any fresh coconut on hand so just used shredded sweetened. I would definitely recommend using coconut extract (if you love coconut). For the coconut lover, its worth it! Pairs wonderfully when warmed with vanilla bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
It was really good - I added about 3/4 cups of chocolate chips - delicious! Very easy - it was my first time making bread pudding and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajengels814

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Other than using all packaged coconut instead of the packaged/fresh combo, I made this as directed and it was quite a hit for Easter brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Good recipe..I used only 1/2 TBSP of the coconut extract, and added 1 TBSP of vanilla extract. I also followed the other reader's advice and used only 1 can of coconut milk. I added 1 cup of milk + 1/4 cup heavy cream. Then mixed in 1/2 cup of chopped pecans and 1/2 cup crushed pineapple. Baking time was about 50 minutes. It came out so moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I did change things up because I was using what I had. I only had one can of coconut milk so I put in a cup of milk and almost a stick of butter like another reviewer did. I did not have fresh coconut so I used sweetened flaked coconut. I also added a handful of chocolate chips. Lastly, I used bread I had around the kitchen that was not being eaten by anyone- potato hot dog buns and two slices of white bread. Regardless of all the changes, it was delicious and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
If you love coconut, you'll love this! I made a few changes so I'll start with that. I didn't have coconut extract or flavoring so I used 2 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. rum flavoring (sort of Pina Colada type idea here). Didn't have fresh coconut but had a can of "young coconut in syrup" so I cut it into fine slivers and used 1/2 C. of that. My hubby likes raisins in bread pudding but I didn't think they would go well in this so I used a cup of pineapple chunks and cut each chunk in 4 pieces (measured after cutting up chunks). I had leftover Croissants and just some plain bread so I used that. Next time I'll just use 5 eggs instead of wasting a white because I don't think it would have made a difference. This is a very forgiving recipe so you can experiment with it. This was awesome - Hubby was soooooo happy! If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. Yoda, you are brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States