Coconut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I switched up just a few things like instead of coconut essence, I put a bit of good vanilla essence. I also added more fresh shredded coconut than sweetened shredded coconut, oh a not white sugar just brown and a touch of confectioner's sugar with the toasted coconut on top. It was really delicious! Sweet but not overly and there was great texture too. I will make again. I can see this also going really good with some vanilla ice cream. easy and a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My boys (21 and 19) loved this recipe! Gone in minutes. I did add extra coconut though. We had never had bread pudding before so it was a great introduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
We absolutely loved this recipe. The coconut tweak was delicious. Used french loaf bread but really didn't need the whole 1 lb., just enough to coat evenly and not make a mushy mess at the end. Did not have any fresh coconut on hand so just used shredded sweetened. I would definitely recommend using coconut extract (if you love coconut). For the coconut lover, its worth it! Pairs wonderfully when warmed with vanilla bean ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
It was really good - I added about 3/4 cups of chocolate chips - delicious! Very easy - it was my first time making bread pudding and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajengels814

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Other than using all packaged coconut instead of the packaged/fresh combo, I made this as directed and it was quite a hit for Easter brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Good recipe..I used only 1/2 TBSP of the coconut extract, and added 1 TBSP of vanilla extract. I also followed the other reader's advice and used only 1 can of coconut milk. I added 1 cup of milk + 1/4 cup heavy cream. Then mixed in 1/2 cup of chopped pecans and 1/2 cup crushed pineapple. Baking time was about 50 minutes. It came out so moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I did change things up because I was using what I had. I only had one can of coconut milk so I put in a cup of milk and almost a stick of butter like another reviewer did. I did not have fresh coconut so I used sweetened flaked coconut. I also added a handful of chocolate chips. Lastly, I used bread I had around the kitchen that was not being eaten by anyone- potato hot dog buns and two slices of white bread. Regardless of all the changes, it was delicious and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
If you love coconut, you'll love this! I made a few changes so I'll start with that. I didn't have coconut extract or flavoring so I used 2 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. rum flavoring (sort of Pina Colada type idea here). Didn't have fresh coconut but had a can of "young coconut in syrup" so I cut it into fine slivers and used 1/2 C. of that. My hubby likes raisins in bread pudding but I didn't think they would go well in this so I used a cup of pineapple chunks and cut each chunk in 4 pieces (measured after cutting up chunks). I had leftover Croissants and just some plain bread so I used that. Next time I'll just use 5 eggs instead of wasting a white because I don't think it would have made a difference. This is a very forgiving recipe so you can experiment with it. This was awesome - Hubby was soooooo happy! If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. Yoda, you are brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Yum, yum, yum! I didn't pay close attention to the ingredient list before diving into mixing. When I realized I only had one can of coconut milk (not condensed milk as one reviewer said--no wonder hers came out too sweet!), so I substituted a cup or so of heavy cream for the second can of coconut milk. I also didn't have coconut extract, so I used a tsp or so of vanilla extract. I also didn't have nutmeg, so I used allspice. My pet peeve on recipe review sites is when someone changes 12 things and then gives the recipe a bad rap. I'm here to say that this one is delicious and hard to mess up even when you are ingredient-challenged! I used my convection oven at 300 degrees, and it took about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The coconut gods are pleased (and so was my husband). Be sure to cook this thoroughly and feel free to turn the bread a few times after starting to soak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States