Coconut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
We made it just like the recipe called for and loved it. We love desserts with coconut and this one is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
The coconut flavor wasn't as strong as I'd hoped (I love coconut!). I didn't have fresh coconut and used unsweetened instead, so that was probably the reason why. Next time I'll try it with real coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
As Doug Heffernan would say, "It do not get better than this!" I was looking for a way to use up some leftover coconut milk I had in the fridge left over from a Pina Colada punch I made (I really should submit that recipe), and was really excited when I found this, since I love both bread pudding and coconut. Since it's just the hubs and me, I cut the recipe in half and left out the extra egg yolk, since it would have been problematic to use half of one. I also didn't have fresh coconut, but I DID have some Trader Joe's roasted coconut chips, so I used those in the same proportion as the fresh, and it turned out very well! It was a little sweet, and I used unsweetened coconut milk, so I will probably cut down on the sugar next time. I also think it's important to not leave out the step of greasing the pan with butter and confectioners' sugar and toasting the coconut on top during the last of the cooking was a very nice touch and shouldn't be omitted. I will be serving it to company tomorrow and can't wait for them to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGCHEF22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I really loved this recipe, which I found after searching snacks with coconut milk as an ingredient. I made this for my book club. It was my first time ever making a bread pudding, and I think I did pretty well! I got the bread from the bakery sliced up into small pieces just for the recipe. Since they didn't have any day-old bread they recommended I stick the pieces in the oven at 350 for a short while. I did so with the fresh french bread in a 9x13 glass pan for 15 minutes and it dried the bread up to a great day-old consistency. Also omitted the fresh coconut and used more shredded coconut. Next time I am going to review the reviews (ha!) and add raisins, more flavor options, etc to give the dish some more interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I am obsessed with bread pudding and coconut so I was really excited to try this, but unfortunately for me it was just OK. It was a tad greasy and not very heavy on the coconut flavor. I may try this again with less coconut milk and maybe pineapple or banana added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was so good and so easy, a big hit! I did leave out the fresh coconut but it didn't seem to be missing anything. It makes enough for eight people easily. But four of us devoured it. Mmmm so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a good recipe, but for all of the expense, it is not as good as the Bread Pudding II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I recently had a piece of coconut bread pudding that was delicious! I was in charge of desert today, for New Years dinner. I wanted to recreate the bread pudding I had the other day. I followed this recipe except I replaced the loaf of French bread with Hawaiian Sweet bread. It was delicious, and I believe better than the other day. It could be, I didn't have to pay $4.25 for a single serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Mmmmm....Beautiful! Don't know why I never thought of coconut in bread pudding before, but this is very tasty. When I made this tonight I added some pineapple tidbits with their juice like another reviewer said. I think it's a little acidic, so next time I will drain the pineapple. I halved the sugar and the the sweetness was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Amazing. Try toasting the coconut flakes before adding, gives a nice crunch. I also used the zest of one lime instead of the spices and reduced the sugar to our liking. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States