Coconut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I added a glaze of and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Just made these for the first time. I made them in a mini-muffin pan for an upcoming family reunion Memorial Week-end. They turned out great (all 88 of them). I baked them at 350 for about 10 to 12 minutes. I plan to freeze them til the reunion and and then put a light coconut glaze on them. They were very easy to make and didn't take up alot of time. (If some of you didn't know, there is a product on the market called Cultured Buttermilk Blend put out by Saco, so you can make just the amount of buttermilk you need instead of having to buy a whole quart of fresh buttermilk) Thanks for the recipe Susan...I'm sure I'll be making these little gems often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
AMAZING!!!! I did substitute the buttermilk w/ coconut milk, which is found on the imported foods aisle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I obtained this recipe over 25 years ago from a neighbor in Utah...her version includes a glaze, that I think makes all the difference. Glaze: 1 cup of sugar 1/2 cup water 2 Tbsp. Butter 1 tsp. coconut flavoring For Glaze, combine sugar, water and butter; bring to a boil. Add coconut flavoring. Pour hot glaze over top of loaves while still they are still warm. Let sit in pans 4 hours before removing. Also the oven temp should be 325 degrees. This recipe does make 2 regular loaf pans(bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes) or 3 small loaf pans (bake 55 to 60 minutes) and a bundt pan will hold this recipe. We just love this bread toasted and buttered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This recipe is absolutely divine! Easy to make and more delectable to eat. The coconut flavor is so perfect. The bread is like a pound cake. I will make this again and again. Thank you for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Thank you so much Susan, for posting this unusual and unusually easy recipe! I baked the batter into "muffin" form, versus a loaf, with a change in the baking time. Most muffin recipes that fit into my "Texas" pan, call for 2 cups of flour, so this kooky cook, made 2/3 of your recipe. They were delicious. I thought these muffins would rise high, so I used Pam sprayed "skirts" to rest on top of each muffin hole. By skirts, I mean old canned tuna or pineapple tins that I've removed both sides of the lids, and use just for muffins. Superb chewy, dense textured muffins, with a big cocoanut flavor. Keep on cooking and posting Susan! Best wishes, Jeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
This was my Grandmas Recipe that she got from some folks who visited the Islands about 50 years ago. This recipe is meant as a deasert loaf, and should never be bigger than the 3X3X6 loaf pans. It will make 3 1/2 of these. I have also found that if you use a quiche pan you can make miniture cupcakes of this I call coconut "poppers" since they can be popped in the mouth so easily. Same temp as bread just cook for 10-14 min. cheack with toothpick to see if done and your set. Her Hubby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
This is a good recipe, however it makes TWO 9x5 loaf pans, not one. I have made it several times and shared the recipe with many people. It turns out very well by replacing the 1 c oil with 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c applesauce or by omitting the oil all together and using 1 c applesauce (unsweetened). It's a chewier texture, but very good if you're looking to cut some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I have been making this recipe for 5 years now. A friend gave me a copy of it and I just made it last night. I bake mine at 325 for 1 hour to create 2 loaves. Or, I make small loaves and bake for 50 minutes rotating the pans once while cooking. I have a 4 loaf pan and this recipe fills it nicely with just a bit of batter left-over. I also sprinkle mine with a bit of coconut before baking to get the coconut look to it. I served it at church this morning and many people thought it was lemon or pound cake. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooking Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is such an easy and simply excellent recipe. It comes out more like a cake really, rather than a bread. It's something like what we Trini's call a sweet bread. I've made it a few times and it always receives a standing ovation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmbarasa
Home Town: Port Of Spain, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States