Coconut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is such an easy and simply excellent recipe. It comes out more like a cake really, rather than a bread. It's something like what we Trini's call a sweet bread. I've made it a few times and it always receives a standing ovation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmbarasa
Home Town: Port Of Spain, Port-Of-Spain, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
first time experience. I ended up using pound cake container since the volume was quite large. I too see that the center isn't cooked at 50 minutes at 375.....that assumes of course I didn't make a fundamental error......when it called for white sugar I used granulated sugar. I hope this was right and recipe wasn't asking for powdered. Anyway, so far so good. After about 55 min I turned it down to 325 F as another review suggested. Was fine after another 30 minutes. Not burned looking either. Tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I obtained this recipe over 25 years ago from a neighbor in Utah...her version includes a glaze, that I think makes all the difference. Glaze: 1 cup of sugar 1/2 cup water 2 Tbsp. Butter 1 tsp. coconut flavoring For Glaze, combine sugar, water and butter; bring to a boil. Add coconut flavoring. Pour hot glaze over top of loaves while still they are still warm. Let sit in pans 4 hours before removing. Also the oven temp should be 325 degrees. This recipe does make 2 regular loaf pans(bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes) or 3 small loaf pans (bake 55 to 60 minutes) and a bundt pan will hold this recipe. We just love this bread toasted and buttered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
AMAZING!!!! I did substitute the buttermilk w/ coconut milk, which is found on the imported foods aisle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Tagle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Mmm! Yummy! Very soft and fluffy. My mom said it was more like a cake than a muffin. Note: I doubled the baking soda, quadrupled (4x?) the baking powder, and halved the sugar. Replaced all purpose flour with cake flour. Added 1/2 cup chopped macadamias too. Also used half coconut and half vanilla extracts. Heck, I even throw in orange or lemon extracts at times! I sprinkled some sweetened shredded coconut on the tops before baking as well. (I baked these as muffins, at 400F for approx... 20mins?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by UVASPY
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very moist - perfect with coffee. I used vanilla extract because there was no coconut extract, still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Just made these for the first time. I made them in a mini-muffin pan for an upcoming family reunion Memorial Week-end. They turned out great (all 88 of them). I baked them at 350 for about 10 to 12 minutes. I plan to freeze them til the reunion and and then put a light coconut glaze on them. They were very easy to make and didn't take up alot of time. (If some of you didn't know, there is a product on the market called Cultured Buttermilk Blend put out by Saco, so you can make just the amount of buttermilk you need instead of having to buy a whole quart of fresh buttermilk) Thanks for the recipe Susan...I'm sure I'll be making these little gems often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This recipe was ok. I had to make a few changes after finding out that the shredded coconut leaves the bread too dry. Instead of 2 tsp of coconut extract I added 1 tbsp and a half, then I changed the shredded coconut from 1 cup to 1/4 cup. After those changes the bread was moist and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I added a glaze of and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I have been making this recipe for 5 years now. A friend gave me a copy of it and I just made it last night. I bake mine at 325 for 1 hour to create 2 loaves. Or, I make small loaves and bake for 50 minutes rotating the pans once while cooking. I have a 4 loaf pan and this recipe fills it nicely with just a bit of batter left-over. I also sprinkle mine with a bit of coconut before baking to get the coconut look to it. I served it at church this morning and many people thought it was lemon or pound cake. Enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooking Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States