Coconut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This had a great texture. I used vanilla instead of coconut extract and Greek yogurt instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
In my opinion, this recipe makes alot of batter/dough! It certainly rises well above the rim and looks amazing as it bakes in the oven. I decided at 45 minutes in to cover it with aluminum foil which worked well cause I ended up having to bake it just over an hour (the center certainly took longer to cook.) My husband and I like the taste very much but it's messy to cut! I will make this recipe again but I'll probably try it as more manageable muffins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I am a cocoNUT so I had high hopes for this bread. Unfortunately, this was lacking flavor to me. In addition, it was crumbly as another reviewer stated. I prefer a nice dense quick bread with loads of flavor. Thanks for sharing. BTW it needs to bake about 10 more minutes for the center to get done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
The flavor was good, but it turned out extremely dry and crumbly. Probably wouldn't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Very tasty, not too sweet. I think it could be baked maybe 10 minutes longer, though. The inside was a little mushy. I didn't have coconut extract so I substituted vanilla extract. You can make your own self rising flour by adding 1.5 tsp of baking powder per cup of flour and 1 tsp of salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
The taste was coconut heaven, but there was one problem - although the inside was "just baked" super moist, the outside was almost overbaked and kind of dry. Hmmm, I'll still make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
I was surprised at how quickly this bread disappeared after I made it. My 4 kids thought this was a great alternative to the usual breakfast food. I will definitely make this again--in larger batches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
I haven't made this one yet, but if I do I just know I will LOVE it!!!! Now that I have made it I know what you will taste it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
This recipe turned out very well... but the taste was just awful. The vanilla sugar gave it a very bitter taste. I had to throw out the whole loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
Great Recipe!! I made this for a Tupperware demonstration and it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States