Coconut Bon Bons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Wonderful recipe. I added more coconut (about 1/2 C) and would not use as much confectioner's sugar next time, but these got rave reviews from everyone who tried them. Thanks for a great no-bake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
These are so good! I used 60% cacao chocolate chips instead of semisweet and they were perfect. They are easier to roll into balls cold, but I just used a little cookie scoop and didn't worry about making them into balls. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilley, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearsall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These are wonderful and fun to make. NOTE: I would recommend adding a little extra powdered sugar and refrigerating the dough a bit prior to rolling into balls to reduce the stickiness. Skip the double boiler and microwave the chocolate/shortening at reduced power. I love these, and I'm not even a huge coconut fan usually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Here is a very helpful hint to everyone who seems to be having problems rolling the balls. My trick is to have a glass of very hot water sitting beside the mixture and also a small bowl of confectioners sugar. I dip a spoon into the hot water then scoop the mixture with the spoon and drop into the sugar. I then coat the ball with sugar and roll into the balls. No mess at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Marion, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I had trouble with the tooth pick dipping part. They kept falling apart, off the pick into the chocolate. I had to change technique to manage a shape & put an almond in the center of each ball (since the toothpick method was not working for me this time around) and coated one side at a time, allowing each side time to firm up. It took more time but was worth it. I made this for my mother, she loves coconut, wanted to surprise her. I brought a container filled. The next morning there were 2 left :) Up shot is, they tasted great, like the candy bar. I am making this for my mother again. I'll have to work on technique, read up on tips and practice, practice, practice. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I really liked this recipe because it was so easy. I ran into a couple problems as others did rolling the coconut mixture into balls; I used a mellon baller to start and then just briefly rolled the pieces. Also, I added 3/4 cup extra coconut and think next time I will add a total of 1 & 1/2 C extra coconut. I found I had to keep reheating the chocolate because it takes a while to coat all the balls and the when cooled the chocolate solidified. I got 56 pieces. I pushed an almond into each one before dipping in chocolate. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
My husband and I love coconut. We both absolutely adored these. I already have requests to make them again and again. They are very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
The "dough" is very sticky. The trick is...pat your hand in confectioners sugar every now and then to keep the dough from sticking to your hands. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
The description says it all..."balls of joy"! I got more compliments on these from all of my Christmas goodies this year! I'll be making these BEFORE Christmas, for sure! May add a whole almond in the middle next time. And beware....it makes more than 3 dozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This is always a big hit with my friends and family. I even get requests to have me make this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States