Coconut Bon Bons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
They didn't turn out like balls at all. They were flat and thin. They were delicious dont get me wrong however I highly suggest freezing them and not just putting them in the fridge and make sure you use real butter and not spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is the recipe that my mom got from her greatgrandma, that we made throughout my childhood and that I use each year at Christmas time with my family. The only difference is that we don't measure anything. We use an entire 1 lb bag of powdered sugar, a regular size bag of coconut and a regular size can of sweetend condensed milk. As for tips: 1. place the dough in the fridge or freezer before you roll them to make it easier. 2. If you use a cookie sheet covered in wax paper you can roll the balls then store in the freezer so that they don't soften while you are dipping small batches. Which can then be placed back in the freezer to harden. 3. make sure that the balls are fairly small in size or once you add the chocolate to the outside they will get too big, try a few different sizes to find what works best for you before you roll out all the dough. 4. the bon bons also freeze well, you can leave batches in the freezer and pull a few out (or eat them frozen - yum) when you want a little treat or have company coming over. Good luck! You won't regret making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
These are delicious. I found a white coconut flavored chocolate bar and melted it with a dab of shortening. Dipped some of the balls in that and some in a good quality bittersweet chocolate. I also found a bag of Toll House Cherry flavored chips and I am going to melt some of those tonight and dip some of the balls in the cherry. Never had coconut & cherry but it sounds good to me. I found that all this works better if it is kept cold. Make a few balls and stick them in the freezer before you try to coat them. Keep the dough in the fridge, make small batches at a time. When it starts getting too sticky then it's not cold enough. Patience pays off with this recipe. In case you buy your powdered sugar by the big bags, 3 3/4 cups = 1 pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I made these to put out on Christmas Eve and they were a HIT! I will make them every year. I am not a huge coconut lover but these were super! I think they taste better than Mounds Bars! I did refrigerate the dough before trying to shape them into balls and it worked PERFECTLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint James, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These were decadent and laid out more like a truffle than a cookie. The condensed milk makes this cookie intensely sweet, giving me the perfect opportunity to drizzle some good quality bittersweet chocolate on top. It complimented the sweetness perfectly and asthetically. Folks went out of their way to let me know the bon bons were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
The filling is very sweet, but I use good quality, dark chocolate to counterbalance the sweetness. This recipe is perfect for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Ive been making these for years , but misplaced my recipe a couple years ago , so I was glad to find this one . I separate my filling into small portions , freeze at least an hour , then work with one portion @ a time . I like to form little log shapes with mine . I thought there was no way to improve on these until the year I tried butterscotch instead of chocolate chips ...wonderful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Thanks for a good recipe. My only complaints are that for me these were a bit too sweet and didn't have enough coconut. Next time I will take the suggestion of other reviewers to add about 1 and 1/2 cups more coconut and may use slightly less powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Excellent little balls of perfection! Double dipped mine in creamer/semi-sweet choc. chips - let cool between coatings - melt in your mouth goodness! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Have to use confection sugar to roll it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States