Coconut Bon Bons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Well... I hate to give any recipe a three that tastes so good but the time to make these made me dislike them. This recipe made twice as many as indicated and therefore needed twice as much chocolate to coat them all. I had to freeze the dough before and after rolling them for it to all work. But everyone said they were delicious. I have to admit I couldn't even taste one after having to look at them for 3+ hours. So my rating is the average of 5 for taste and 1 for ease of making. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
way too much sugar and too sticky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Definitely put dough in freezer for an hour or so, and it helps to freeze the little dough balls on a cookie sheet lined with waxed paper before dipping them in chocolate. I like dipping mine in the melted candy wafers you use for candy making, and I prefer to use white instead of chocolate. It also helps to place the dough balls on a fork and dip into the white chocolate, sliding the fork against the side of the bowl to get the excess off and place on waxed paper. Depending on the holiday, I'll sprinkle little candy decos on them before the chocolate firms up to make them prettier. Like Valentine sprinkles, or Christmas ones. Just a few suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made these for Christmas and they were beautiful and very easy. They tasted just like the old-fashioned Bon Bons I remember from my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
The only way this recipe would work is if you were making these in a walk-in fridge. The sticky mixture needed to be in the freezer for at least a few hours to guarantee it keeping it's shape as balls. But even when dipping it into the chocolate, it starts to melt. The melting mess was delicious, but definately not presentable! If you've had your heart set on something coconut and bite-sized, I suggest making coconut macaroons instead. I'm determined to come up with a better coconut bon bons recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Thank You for the recipe. Now I don't have to worry about losing it . I also use Cherry, Butterscotch, White Chocolate, as well as Peanut Butter Chips. Merry Christmas. Calla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Remer, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I have to say, I was surprised at how good these were. I am giving it 4 stars only because I think the measurements are off. I left out a cup of the sugar, doubled the coconut and used dark chocolate for the outside and they were still a bit too sweet for me and my tasters. But with a bit more tweaking, these will be delicious. They are easy to make (but no one will know). A must for coconut lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
They didn't turn out like balls at all. They were flat and thin. They were delicious dont get me wrong however I highly suggest freezing them and not just putting them in the fridge and make sure you use real butter and not spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This is the recipe that my mom got from her greatgrandma, that we made throughout my childhood and that I use each year at Christmas time with my family. The only difference is that we don't measure anything. We use an entire 1 lb bag of powdered sugar, a regular size bag of coconut and a regular size can of sweetend condensed milk. As for tips: 1. place the dough in the fridge or freezer before you roll them to make it easier. 2. If you use a cookie sheet covered in wax paper you can roll the balls then store in the freezer so that they don't soften while you are dipping small batches. Which can then be placed back in the freezer to harden. 3. make sure that the balls are fairly small in size or once you add the chocolate to the outside they will get too big, try a few different sizes to find what works best for you before you roll out all the dough. 4. the bon bons also freeze well, you can leave batches in the freezer and pull a few out (or eat them frozen - yum) when you want a little treat or have company coming over. Good luck! You won't regret making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
These are delicious. I found a white coconut flavored chocolate bar and melted it with a dab of shortening. Dipped some of the balls in that and some in a good quality bittersweet chocolate. I also found a bag of Toll House Cherry flavored chips and I am going to melt some of those tonight and dip some of the balls in the cherry. Never had coconut & cherry but it sounds good to me. I found that all this works better if it is kept cold. Make a few balls and stick them in the freezer before you try to coat them. Keep the dough in the fridge, make small batches at a time. When it starts getting too sticky then it's not cold enough. Patience pays off with this recipe. In case you buy your powdered sugar by the big bags, 3 3/4 cups = 1 pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States