Coconut Bon Bons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
To all those having trouble keeping the balls on the toothpicks, try putting them in the freezer for an hour instead of the fridge. They will get firmer and hold on to the toothpicks better. This recipe is just like my favorite candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Delicious! tastes just like a coconut egg at easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I would have loved to give 5 stars because these were fantastic but only after I made modifications. I used almost 5 cups of coconut and only 1/2 pound of sugar. Turned out delicious. Though a bit messy, with well greased hands generously covered with powdered sugar, not that big of a deal. I didn't have to refrigerate the balls before coating them. I used a shallow bowl, microwaved the chocolate, dropped the balls in with a spoon and rolled them around. With a couple of minutes in the freezer they were ready to eat!! My kids and husband were begging for more. I hope this helps anyone having trouble with this recipe! Very tasty! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Well... I hate to give any recipe a three that tastes so good but the time to make these made me dislike them. This recipe made twice as many as indicated and therefore needed twice as much chocolate to coat them all. I had to freeze the dough before and after rolling them for it to all work. But everyone said they were delicious. I have to admit I couldn't even taste one after having to look at them for 3+ hours. So my rating is the average of 5 for taste and 1 for ease of making. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
way too much sugar and too sticky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Definitely put dough in freezer for an hour or so, and it helps to freeze the little dough balls on a cookie sheet lined with waxed paper before dipping them in chocolate. I like dipping mine in the melted candy wafers you use for candy making, and I prefer to use white instead of chocolate. It also helps to place the dough balls on a fork and dip into the white chocolate, sliding the fork against the side of the bowl to get the excess off and place on waxed paper. Depending on the holiday, I'll sprinkle little candy decos on them before the chocolate firms up to make them prettier. Like Valentine sprinkles, or Christmas ones. Just a few suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made these for Christmas and they were beautiful and very easy. They tasted just like the old-fashioned Bon Bons I remember from my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
The only way this recipe would work is if you were making these in a walk-in fridge. The sticky mixture needed to be in the freezer for at least a few hours to guarantee it keeping it's shape as balls. But even when dipping it into the chocolate, it starts to melt. The melting mess was delicious, but definately not presentable! If you've had your heart set on something coconut and bite-sized, I suggest making coconut macaroons instead. I'm determined to come up with a better coconut bon bons recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Thank You for the recipe. Now I don't have to worry about losing it . I also use Cherry, Butterscotch, White Chocolate, as well as Peanut Butter Chips. Merry Christmas. Calla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Remer, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I have to say, I was surprised at how good these were. I am giving it 4 stars only because I think the measurements are off. I left out a cup of the sugar, doubled the coconut and used dark chocolate for the outside and they were still a bit too sweet for me and my tasters. But with a bit more tweaking, these will be delicious. They are easy to make (but no one will know). A must for coconut lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States