Coconut Bon Bons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is one sticky mess. To help cut down on the stickiness, I chill the mixed coconut nuggat for at least 2 hours. Then, using a cookie scoop, scoop out the balls and place on waxed paper on cookie sheet. Then return to the fridge over night before dipping in chocolate. This makes it so much easier to handle the nuggat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blanchard, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These were super gooey and really hard to make. I guess I would add more coconut or sugar or something to make them thicker and easier to dip. Even frozen they were pretty gooey. I added a couple of shreds of coconut after dipping to the top to make them prettier. However, once done, so yummy! Like a Mounds Bar, except better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Pretty good recipe. Make sure your dough is extremely cold and it won't be so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
They tasted good but i had a horrible time making balls and dipping them they kept melting and very sticky! i even tried dipping them in powder sugar first! just wont make them again because impossible to make balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Vasquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These were SO good! I let the mixture sit overnight. They rolled out pretty easy. I think it is easier to just dig in and use your hands. Let them sit in the refrig after you dip them. They get too mushy if they sit out at room temp. They set up nicely after they are complete and cold! I will make these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GaBensMom
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I have been making this same recipe for at least 10 years. How much easier it would have made my life at the busy time of Christmas to have known about the hint of lightly rolling the balls in the powdered sugar after placing in the freezer a few hours, ingenious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaBensMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
very very sweet and numm-o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Great Recipe. Everyone loves them. I agree with the other comments. I increased the coconut to one 400 gram package of cocunut- about 4 cups, cut the icing sugar down to half a package of icing sugar- therefore about 250 grams. I also add a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla and almond flavouring. It is easier to refridgerate them for about an hour before rolling. To make it easier, I spooned the chocolate over them and it gives them real homemade look. Can add a mint chocolate chip on top or any other item such as nuts or sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
These are very good. The second time I made them, I cut the sugar, condensed milk and butter in half, added about 1/4 teas. of vanilla, and increased the coconut (sweetened) by a half of cup. I also used special dark chocolate chips. These changes made them even better and task very much like Mounds candy bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Delicious. Tastes just like candy from a Russell Stovers box. A little time consuming and frustrating with the dipping. Freeze for 30 min before making balls. Make small balls, they get considerably bigger once dipped. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States