Coconut Bon Bons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
These were delicious. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it was a little too sweet for us. (maybe personal taste). I will definitely make them again with a little less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetCravings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
these were good mine were a little softer than i like. hard to dip in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Photo by Jayashiangel
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great...Tips..Mix the coconut part the place in bowl into freezer for 1+ hours. The create small balls place on wax paper then back into freeze for 30+min to firm again. Then roll balls in melted chocolate back onto cookie sheet w/ wax paper to set Keep in freezer /fridge as the melt quickly at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayashiangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Branch, Michigan, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I took these to a Christmas party. Everyone loved them!! I used extra sweetened condensed milk because the coconut seemed to dry. I also froze the balls for one hour before dipping them in chocolate. They taste really great if you freeze them after you put the chocolate on and eat them right out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I love this recipe! I read the reviews first making it. I made the coconut mixture (added a little bit more coconut) and refrigerated over night then rolled them into balls the next day. Put them back into the frig until the chocolate was ready. I had no problems at all and each one looked great. This was a great hit with everyone. I will definitely make it over and over. This is a keeper. Thank you Tamme
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I love this recipe, but it takes along time to roll into balls, becasue they are so sticky. I found the easiest way to solve the problem, I used a pair of latex gloves, what a difference. If they get sticky, just dip into a little powdered sugar. This will cut your roll time into minutes, instead of an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Sure, it's sticky to roll into balls, but powdered sugar on your hands help that. I froze the balls for 2+ hours and had no problem dipping in chocolate. These are delicious, rich, and so easy. This recipe does make quite a few and I recommend making small sized balls, as it is so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is one sticky mess. To help cut down on the stickiness, I chill the mixed coconut nuggat for at least 2 hours. Then, using a cookie scoop, scoop out the balls and place on waxed paper on cookie sheet. Then return to the fridge over night before dipping in chocolate. This makes it so much easier to handle the nuggat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blanchard, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These were super gooey and really hard to make. I guess I would add more coconut or sugar or something to make them thicker and easier to dip. Even frozen they were pretty gooey. I added a couple of shreds of coconut after dipping to the top to make them prettier. However, once done, so yummy! Like a Mounds Bar, except better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Pretty good recipe. Make sure your dough is extremely cold and it won't be so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States