Coconut Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This cake is great. I would make it again in a heartbeat! I don't understand troglodytes like "sugarbean" that give a recipe a low rating, because they changed the recipe and didn't like it! What is wrong with you? You rate the recipe AS IT IS PRINTED, NOT THE WAY YOU ACTUALLY MADE IT, WHEN IT DIFFERS FROM THE ACTUAL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
A great summer/winter cake. I had no coconut flakes, but lots of blueberries. So I added some coconut extract to milk/oil/egg mixture. I also added cinnamon to dry mixture. I prepared glaze as directed and when cake was hot punctured it with a large four pronged fork. I spread the glaze over the holes and then just covered the cake and put additional fresh blueberries on top along with sprigs of mint from my garden. Guests removed the decorative mint and enjoyed the cake immensely. Thank you for such a nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Sr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup oil. It was delicious! It looked like too much glaze when I was putting it on, but it soaked into the cake a bit, and turned out just right. Made this for fiance's grandma, have never seen her eat so much cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
AMAAAAAAZZZZING cake! Made it for Sunday dinner; it couldn't have been easier or quicker! I skipped the lemon sauce (no time) and we ate it with vanilla and fudge ripple ice cream. The only change I made was 1 cup each white and whole wheat flour. Used a gentle hand mixing everything, and the end result was a gorgeous, fluffy cake. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this for my daughters birthday party everyone loved it! My dad had 4 pieces and he never eats dessert. I also made one fort church. Everyone raved about it. I saw a women trying to eat the crumbs off the platter!!! This is a new family recipe. You HAVE to try this Thank You!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This cake tasted good. I think its more of a breakfast/coffee cake. The glaze instructions were to involved so i simply mixed powdered sugar with lemon juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MyAirmanMyHero
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I followed the cake recipe as written but I sprinkled the coconut on with about 10 minutes left in the oven so it didn't dry out too much. I knew by reading the "glaze" recipe that I wouldn't follow it. Instead of the cornstarch glaze I simply mixed a cup and a half of confectioners sugar with about two tablespoons or so of lemon juice (adding a splash at a time) until it was the consistency I was looking for and drizzled that over the cooled cake. We enjoyed the cake with the modifications I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe - everyone wanted second helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Mmmmmm! Works for me just fine without the lemon sauce, but may try that next time. Not too sweet and was delicious both plain as a coffee cake as well as with vanilla ice cream for dessert. It raised well and was impressive per portion. Had lots of frozen wild blueberries and they worked perfectly. Very nice recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Gregory

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This cake was great the first day, a little dry the second day. Defintely make the lemon sauce that goes with this - it makes the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States