Coconut Blueberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Great mix of blueberries, coconut and lemon - supermoist and delicious. It passed the "husband test" with thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this for my daughters birthday party everyone loved it! My dad had 4 pieces and he never eats dessert. I also made one fort church. Everyone raved about it. I saw a women trying to eat the crumbs off the platter!!! This is a new family recipe. You HAVE to try this Thank You!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Very Very good...a nice change of pace for desserts. This would make a good dessert to serve with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
My sister said this is a keeper, and I couldn't agree more. An excellent combo of flavors! I used frozen blueberries which I mixed with about a TB of flour before adding to mix and putting some on top. I did add maybe 2 Tb lemon to the cake mix (deducting a little milk--I used soy milk). Sorta makes it a buttermilk subst, so maybe should use lemon extract for lemon flavor in the cake. It made a bit more glaze than I needed, but no problem finding uses for the leftover!. Cake was still warm, so I poked holes in the cake & drizzled glaze on top. Still couldn't wait for it to cool to cut & eat. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup oil. It was delicious! It looked like too much glaze when I was putting it on, but it soaked into the cake a bit, and turned out just right. Made this for fiance's grandma, have never seen her eat so much cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
A great summer/winter cake. I had no coconut flakes, but lots of blueberries. So I added some coconut extract to milk/oil/egg mixture. I also added cinnamon to dry mixture. I prepared glaze as directed and when cake was hot punctured it with a large four pronged fork. I spread the glaze over the holes and then just covered the cake and put additional fresh blueberries on top along with sprigs of mint from my garden. Guests removed the decorative mint and enjoyed the cake immensely. Thank you for such a nice combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Sr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I really want to give this more stars but I'm going to review this recipe on how it came out for me this first try. I did 1/4c applesause and 1/4c oil, I also used 1 c ap flour and 1c white whole wheat flour. I think the fault of the cake's texture was due to old baking powder. I think it would have been better if I had removed the cake from the pan prior to drizzling it with the sauce. The sauce was were the problem really lied. 4 1/2 teaspoons of cornstarch was too much for my sauce. Next time I will use half the amount. It became a gelatonious mess. As soon as I get new baking powder I will be making this again. I think the problems I had could easily be fixed. I will re-review this then. Looking foreward to a second try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Even with how I changed this recipe it was still great. I used whole wheat flour, no coconut and left off the sauce. It was still a very moist, yummy cake! And a bit healthier ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This cake is great. I would make it again in a heartbeat! I don't understand troglodytes like "sugarbean" that give a recipe a low rating, because they changed the recipe and didn't like it! What is wrong with you? You rate the recipe AS IT IS PRINTED, NOT THE WAY YOU ACTUALLY MADE IT, WHEN IT DIFFERS FROM THE ACTUAL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Fantastic recipe the way it is written. I also made it with some alterations based on what i had on hand, used up an open can of coconut milk for milk and oil and diced fresh peaches for blueberry! Great recipe to play with. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States