Coconut-Avocado Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
soo good, i changed it alittle bit 2 avacodos; 1 can (14oz) coconut milk; 1 1/2 cups sugar; 2 3/4 cup heavy cream; half can of crushed pinapple; 2 hand fulls of shredded coconut soooooo goooddd A+++ Pasalamatan mo siya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I love this. The avocado gives the ice cream a gorgeous pale green color and almost a "green" flavor as well—it tastes really fresh, not overpowering & vegetal. We used sweet coconut cream, like you'd use for mixed drinks. As a friend said, "This would be wonderful served with light lemon butter cookies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Mmmm...this was quite tasty. I kept waiting for a strange avocado taste after my first few bites, but it never came. It has a very fresh taste. It seems like an unusual combination, but it works perfectly together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creating Beauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I used two ripe avocado's, a can each of good quality coconut milk and coconut cream about 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar and a 1/4 cup of cocoa. It is delicious and makes a very nutritious snack for my grandson who is allergic to milk and eggs. Thanks so much for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This was a very tasty recipe, and a nice change of pace in our dessert routine. It does taste very good with lemon biscuit cookies, and I think it would also be good with a banana cookie, too. The only change I would consider making next time would be to cut back on the white sugar just a bit (maybe 1/3 cup instead of 1/2)... I think the sweetness of the coconut cream would still carry the flavor. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
We used half & half instead of milk, added a teaspoon of vanilla and shredded coconut. This ice cream is so refreshing and creamy. Probably the creamiest ice cream I have ever had. The color is a very pretty pale green. Outstanding recipe!!! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
its comes out beautiful and creamy. The only problem is that it needs to be eaten immediately because when it is frozen it is very hard to scoop and over time it goes a bit sour tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Um...my mom and I did not care for this at all. You can really taste the avocado...not good. It looks really pretty, but does not taste as good as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Avocado and coconut would sound odd together but it's a great blend, espeically in icecream. My mother and I absolutely loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I've made this three times now. The first two times were fantastic. The third time was a bust. It had a strong avocado plant taste. That said, taste your avocado before hand. If it has a strong flavor, it probably won't be good for this recipe. However, I did find that 1/2 tsp. almond extract had a strong enough flavor to overcome the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States