Coconut-Avocado Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I love this. The avocado gives the ice cream a gorgeous pale green color and almost a "green" flavor as well—it tastes really fresh, not overpowering & vegetal. We used sweet coconut cream, like you'd use for mixed drinks. As a friend said, "This would be wonderful served with light lemon butter cookies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Mmmm...this was quite tasty. I kept waiting for a strange avocado taste after my first few bites, but it never came. It has a very fresh taste. It seems like an unusual combination, but it works perfectly together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creating Beauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Avocado and coconut would sound odd together but it's a great blend, espeically in icecream. My mother and I absolutely loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
My PA Gina, originally from the Philippine's first turned me on to this; well actually it was just Avocado Ice Cream. But this is better with the addition of coconut. It will sure to please, in the summer heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
You can't taste the avacado?!? This was the weirdest tasting ice cream I have ever tried. Better luck to you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Um...my mom and I did not care for this at all. You can really taste the avocado...not good. It looks really pretty, but does not taste as good as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I used two ripe avocado's, a can each of good quality coconut milk and coconut cream about 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar and a 1/4 cup of cocoa. It is delicious and makes a very nutritious snack for my grandson who is allergic to milk and eggs. Thanks so much for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was a wonderfully smooth, fresh tasting ice cream. It would be excellent paired with a sweet or spicy dinner. Perfect pallet refresher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Kent, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I used a 13 ounce can of coconut milk and a cup of dairy half and half. The mixture lacked flavor so I added the grated zest and juice of 1 lime, increased lemon juice to 1 T. and 1/2 small can of crushed unsweetened pineapple, 1 tsp.vanilla and a dash of salt. Guest enjoyed the icecream for its pleasing and unusual taste, but all agreed it was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This was a very tasty recipe, and a nice change of pace in our dessert routine. It does taste very good with lemon biscuit cookies, and I think it would also be good with a banana cookie, too. The only change I would consider making next time would be to cut back on the white sugar just a bit (maybe 1/3 cup instead of 1/2)... I think the sweetness of the coconut cream would still carry the flavor. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States