Coconut-Avocado Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
I used a 13 ounce can of coconut milk and a cup of dairy half and half. The mixture lacked flavor so I added the grated zest and juice of 1 lime, increased lemon juice to 1 T. and 1/2 small can of crushed unsweetened pineapple, 1 tsp.vanilla and a dash of salt. Guest enjoyed the icecream for its pleasing and unusual taste, but all agreed it was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was a wonderfully smooth, fresh tasting ice cream. It would be excellent paired with a sweet or spicy dinner. Perfect pallet refresher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Kent, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I used two ripe avocado's, a can each of good quality coconut milk and coconut cream about 1/2 cup of dark brown sugar and a 1/4 cup of cocoa. It is delicious and makes a very nutritious snack for my grandson who is allergic to milk and eggs. Thanks so much for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Um...my mom and I did not care for this at all. You can really taste the avocado...not good. It looks really pretty, but does not taste as good as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
You can't taste the avacado?!? This was the weirdest tasting ice cream I have ever tried. Better luck to you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
My PA Gina, originally from the Philippine's first turned me on to this; well actually it was just Avocado Ice Cream. But this is better with the addition of coconut. It will sure to please, in the summer heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Avocado and coconut would sound odd together but it's a great blend, espeically in icecream. My mother and I absolutely loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Mmmm...this was quite tasty. I kept waiting for a strange avocado taste after my first few bites, but it never came. It has a very fresh taste. It seems like an unusual combination, but it works perfectly together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creating Beauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I love this. The avocado gives the ice cream a gorgeous pale green color and almost a "green" flavor as well—it tastes really fresh, not overpowering & vegetal. We used sweet coconut cream, like you'd use for mixed drinks. As a friend said, "This would be wonderful served with light lemon butter cookies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States