Coconut-Avocado Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by luv2eat5
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This concoction was very interesting. I used 1 1/2 avocado and minimized the sugar. I love avocado, but I had a hard time eating this because of the consitancy. This is the most creamy ice cream I've ever had. But I'm used to the thicker texture with the avocado. I think if you love avocado more than coconut, you'll really like this. I just happened to like coconut better. It was definatly worth a try, and I've been wanting to make this. Maybe next time I would put in pineapple concentrate and less avocado. I hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
When I made this recipe, it turned out way too sweet, and I felt the coconut overpowered the avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Coconut flavor a bit too strong. Nice texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
i love this recipe, super easy and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
this was great. im going to make it again and add crushed pineapple and one less avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
THIS IS PHENOMENAL! However, it is always good to give a volume measurement since avos vary so much in size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
We used half & half instead of milk, added a teaspoon of vanilla and shredded coconut. This ice cream is so refreshing and creamy. Probably the creamiest ice cream I have ever had. The color is a very pretty pale green. Outstanding recipe!!! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Delicious... A wonderfully creamy ice-cream with so many flavours. I'll definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I'm not big on either coconut or avacado, but this recipe is FABULOUS. Super easy, makes a good pudding if you don't have time to freeze, IMO. Tastes way better than any ice cream on the shelf; not only that, I don't have to worry about all the additives like syrups and artificial ingredients in store-bought ice cream. Why isn't a flavor like this on the shelves anyways??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This was a very tasty recipe, and a nice change of pace in our dessert routine. It does taste very good with lemon biscuit cookies, and I think it would also be good with a banana cookie, too. The only change I would consider making next time would be to cut back on the white sugar just a bit (maybe 1/3 cup instead of 1/2)... I think the sweetness of the coconut cream would still carry the flavor. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States