Coconut-Avocado Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by luv2eat5
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This concoction was very interesting. I used 1 1/2 avocado and minimized the sugar. I love avocado, but I had a hard time eating this because of the consitancy. This is the most creamy ice cream I've ever had. But I'm used to the thicker texture with the avocado. I think if you love avocado more than coconut, you'll really like this. I just happened to like coconut better. It was definatly worth a try, and I've been wanting to make this. Maybe next time I would put in pineapple concentrate and less avocado. I hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
When I made this recipe, it turned out way too sweet, and I felt the coconut overpowered the avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Coconut flavor a bit too strong. Nice texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
i love this recipe, super easy and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
this was great. im going to make it again and add crushed pineapple and one less avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
THIS IS PHENOMENAL! However, it is always good to give a volume measurement since avos vary so much in size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
We used half & half instead of milk, added a teaspoon of vanilla and shredded coconut. This ice cream is so refreshing and creamy. Probably the creamiest ice cream I have ever had. The color is a very pretty pale green. Outstanding recipe!!! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Delicious... A wonderfully creamy ice-cream with so many flavours. I'll definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I'm not big on either coconut or avacado, but this recipe is FABULOUS. Super easy, makes a good pudding if you don't have time to freeze, IMO. Tastes way better than any ice cream on the shelf; not only that, I don't have to worry about all the additives like syrups and artificial ingredients in store-bought ice cream. Why isn't a flavor like this on the shelves anyways??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This was a very tasty recipe, and a nice change of pace in our dessert routine. It does taste very good with lemon biscuit cookies, and I think it would also be good with a banana cookie, too. The only change I would consider making next time would be to cut back on the white sugar just a bit (maybe 1/3 cup instead of 1/2)... I think the sweetness of the coconut cream would still carry the flavor. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States