Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this for my sister's graduation party BBQ. My grandmother absolutely loved this recipe. I thought it would've been better with about half the milk (or less.) But, it's hard to go wrong with this mix of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was a very good dessert salad. My husband is a very picky eater but ate this with dinner and took it for left overs the next day!! I did double the amount of mandarin oranges the recipe called for because I wanted more fruit in my recipe, as is it looks kind of bland. I am sure I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarissaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Nice option for weekday dessert. I took a reviewer's advice, used the juice of the maraschino jar. My husband loves coconut, so this was a great option. Asked for seconds two days in a row! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LazyForTheKitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Absolutley wonderful! Ive got a big sweet tooth and this doesnt make me feel so bad. Its got the great sweet taste but the fruit will make up for the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccernerd1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Very tasty and well received at the party I attended. Instead of sour cream, I used 1 8-oz container of low fat, plain yogurt. I also used almost a 16-oz container of Cool Whip and extra fruit. Chilling the ingredients beforehand helps if you want to prepare and go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyKat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I'm not a fan of Coconut so I generally make two versions of this -- one with the Coconut and one without. This is a great dish to bring for parties - everyone loves it and it's fairly inexpensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I made this for my husband for Father's Day dessert and it was a hit. Even my three year old wanted some. The only thing I did different was substituting cool whip with fresh heavy whipped cream (3/4 cup cream with about 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla). I also added a can of fruit cocktail. Overall, I adjusted the amount of the coconut and marshmallow to my desirable taste. Will definitely make this again for my next family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Made this for a family get together last Sunday...only thing different added 2 small halved maraschino cherries to the mixture. My family loved it, I was able to eat one serving. This is definitely a keeper, thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAUGHN15

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I skipped the milk and cut the coconut in half and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Outstanding! What a hit at the barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States