Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Really good fruit salad! I omitted the milk and added 1 cup of chopped pecans and a teaspoon of vanilla. I think it would be good with more fruit too, maybe even some bananas. Update: do not omit the milk unless you will be eating this salad the same day. Overnight the marshmallows absorb all the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I was never a big ambrosia fan until I found this recipe. Now I can't get enough of it! I used the suggestion of other reviewers of adding pistachio pudding mix in and I think that's what really makes the recipe. I also add extra fruit, such as chopped apples, bananas, grapes, etc. We found the coconut and marshmallows to be a bit much, so we only use 1 cup of each now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I made this for my sister's graduation party BBQ. My grandmother absolutely loved this recipe. I thought it would've been better with about half the milk (or less.) But, it's hard to go wrong with this mix of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was a very good dessert salad. My husband is a very picky eater but ate this with dinner and took it for left overs the next day!! I did double the amount of mandarin oranges the recipe called for because I wanted more fruit in my recipe, as is it looks kind of bland. I am sure I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarissaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Nice option for weekday dessert. I took a reviewer's advice, used the juice of the maraschino jar. My husband loves coconut, so this was a great option. Asked for seconds two days in a row! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LazyForTheKitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Absolutley wonderful! Ive got a big sweet tooth and this doesnt make me feel so bad. Its got the great sweet taste but the fruit will make up for the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccernerd1223

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Very tasty and well received at the party I attended. Instead of sour cream, I used 1 8-oz container of low fat, plain yogurt. I also used almost a 16-oz container of Cool Whip and extra fruit. Chilling the ingredients beforehand helps if you want to prepare and go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyKat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I'm not a fan of Coconut so I generally make two versions of this -- one with the Coconut and one without. This is a great dish to bring for parties - everyone loves it and it's fairly inexpensive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I made this for my husband for Father's Day dessert and it was a hit. Even my three year old wanted some. The only thing I did different was substituting cool whip with fresh heavy whipped cream (3/4 cup cream with about 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla). I also added a can of fruit cocktail. Overall, I adjusted the amount of the coconut and marshmallow to my desirable taste. Will definitely make this again for my next family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Made this for a family get together last Sunday...only thing different added 2 small halved maraschino cherries to the mixture. My family loved it, I was able to eat one serving. This is definitely a keeper, thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAUGHN15

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States