Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I made (doubled) this for Christmas Eve, and based on others' reviews, added pistacio instant pudding mix and lowfat sour cream in place of milk. I omited the cherries and added strawberries and even left out the marshmallows. I added apples, red grapes, and pecans (toasted them, didn't work, they got soggy, but the coconut was nice toasted). Everyone liked it alot, but didn't taste the pudding flavor because I made the mistake of using a small package of sugar-free (& 1 regular), which was almost flavorless! I made it again already & this time used 2 small regular packs of the pudding mix and it became a beautiful light green and very flavorful! The best part is that the regular pudding has tiny pistacio bits in it (you don't really have to add nuts at all) which makes it divine!! You really can add any fruit, fresh or canned (2nd time I replaced crushed pineapple with a can of WELL-DRAINED Dole Tropical Mixed Fruit which has pineapple chunks. It was amazing!) I'm a coconut freak, but depending on how much other fruit I choose to add, I decide the amount of coconut I want to add at the end (at least a good cup so far). I also used all lite whipped topping & it was fabulous. threw in a banana. with or without marshmallows, woo-hoo! happy mixing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was good, but it had way too much coconut. I made it again without the coconut, added a pack of pistachio pudding to the cool whip, threw in some chopped apples and 1/2 c of pecans, and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My family loves this recipe. It's just like my Grandmas used to be! I always double the recipe at Christmas time. There is never any left. I followed the recipe, except I add some of the cherry juice from the maraschino's. It makes the salad a beautiful pink color, instead of soo white from the cool whip. It also adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is delicious and so easy to make. I will have to take the coconut down by about half for my husbands taste next time. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was perfect as is- I like this recipe better than the ones using sour cream- I just added extra fruit and it was great- I love coconut so the amount was great for us. I'll make this again and again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I used pistachio pudding in this like suggested and reduced the coconut as well....tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnitopia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This is soooo yummy!!! I added pistachio instant pudding and grapes. It has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Yummy, perfect for cookouts, everyone loves it best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
YUMMY.................. says it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody Silvey Goetz
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Quick, easy, and delicious! I didn't measure anything. I just used a tub of frozen whipped topping and dumped in the cans of pineapple and oranges. Used a small jar of cherries and small bag of walnuts. Then just dumped marshmallows and coconut until it looked good to me. It couldn't be any easier and tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Silvey Goetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States