Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I used to make this every year for family holiday dinners, except I added maraschino cherries and omitted the milk. It was really delicious, and everyone enjoyed it. The maraschino cherries gave it a pretty pale pink color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wewoka, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Ok, so I have to admit I just used this recipe as a jumping off point.. I have never went strictly by it.. although the outcome is great! I use it as a guideline. I remember something like this my grandmother made every Christmas, so this recipe brought back so many wonderful memories.. but enough said, this is the changes I made. I added about 1 cup of coconut (what I had on hand). I use 2 cans of mandarin oranges, I omit the cherries. I also use the fruit flavored mini marshmallows. I add 1/2 cup sour cream for a little tang. I also add small box of pistachio pudding to my extra creamy cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapmanville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe but it was too much coconut for my taste. I would cut back to 1 cup of coconut or add an extra can of Mandarin orange slices and an extra can of Pineapple tidbits or chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was a huge hit for our family. I did 1/2 cool whip, 1/2 sour cream, and about 1/2 cup of whipping cream instead of milk. I drained the fruit really well, and it didn't get watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I love this recipe, too! It's been in our family for decades. I substitue the whipped cream and milk for one pint of sour cream. I also add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to give it that extra crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Light and airy, sweet and delicious. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I changed up the fruit to my liking but I would omit or half the amount of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I loved this!! I did add 1/2 box of the pistachio pudding mix but the rest I kept same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty Jackson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. This was my first time making ambrosia salad. Based on other reviews I added pecans, grapes, and pistachio pudding mix. I also omitted the milk and coconut because I am not a fan of it. I had to force myself to stop eating it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States