Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Ok, so I have to admit I just used this recipe as a jumping off point.. I have never went strictly by it.. although the outcome is great! I use it as a guideline. I remember something like this my grandmother made every Christmas, so this recipe brought back so many wonderful memories.. but enough said, this is the changes I made. I added about 1 cup of coconut (what I had on hand). I use 2 cans of mandarin oranges, I omit the cherries. I also use the fruit flavored mini marshmallows. I add 1/2 cup sour cream for a little tang. I also add small box of pistachio pudding to my extra creamy cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapmanville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I tried this recipe but it was too much coconut for my taste. I would cut back to 1 cup of coconut or add an extra can of Mandarin orange slices and an extra can of Pineapple tidbits or chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was a huge hit for our family. I did 1/2 cool whip, 1/2 sour cream, and about 1/2 cup of whipping cream instead of milk. I drained the fruit really well, and it didn't get watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I love this recipe, too! It's been in our family for decades. I substitue the whipped cream and milk for one pint of sour cream. I also add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts to give it that extra crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Light and airy, sweet and delicious. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I changed up the fruit to my liking but I would omit or half the amount of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I loved this!! I did add 1/2 box of the pistachio pudding mix but the rest I kept same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty Jackson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. This was my first time making ambrosia salad. Based on other reviews I added pecans, grapes, and pistachio pudding mix. I also omitted the milk and coconut because I am not a fan of it. I had to force myself to stop eating it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I hadn't made this in years! I use a large can of fruit salad in place of the mandarins, pineapple and cherries. If you leave a bit of juice in the fruit, you can omit the milk as well. I do it this way to keep it extra simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States