Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this dessert for a Christmas Eve party at my cousin's this past year. I added just a bit of ground cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg to the original recipe, also instead of milk, I added sour cream. It was delicious, just as good as what Mom used to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I love ambrosia salad...this one isn't too bad. Keeps nicely in the fridge for a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I like to subsitiute a small container of berry flavored yogurt (the "thick and creamy" kind) for the whipped topping and milk. Also, toast the coconut and add it right before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
very yummy the kids loved it and asked why we would call it a salad and not dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k4rin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwich, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as it is written and thought it was PERFECT. Yummy! The more maraschino cherries the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Couillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Have made this a couple of times now and it is a big hit! I grew up loving ambrosia salad and am happy to have found a receipe that matches my memory of the dish. Like some other reviewers I used sour cream rather than the whipped topping and added 2 packages of pistachio pudding mix. I love the added crunch of the little bits of pistachio. If the green color turns you off though, it is certainly still very good without it. Also, I prefer to use chopped pineapple rather than crushed - I tried the crushed but think it makes it a little too mushy. Thanks for the receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
SorrY We did not like this!! To much coconut and marshmellows. I remade it using Greek yogurt( which is like sour cream but healthy) Fruit cocktail . no milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willnikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Yummy, but next time I will use less coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This recipe is a hit every time I make it. I use sour cream and I also use the multi-colored mini marshmallows--it gives it an extra flavor. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I have made this salad twice for parties. It went over great both times! The changes I made were similar to the others, sour cream instead of milk, and added pistachio pudding. I also added some orange extract to give it a little boost. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States