Coconut Ambrosia Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Very nice - a great recipe that is fast to prepare and the kids are guarateend to love it. I usually serve ambrosia as one of the dinner salads (as my mom and grandma do) and there are never any leftovers. This one was no exception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Perfect! I've never made Ambrosia Salad before and it turned out just great :) I thought that adding the milk in would be odd, but it just sort of thins out the cool whip and makes it just right...not overly sweet like in another review. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I wasn't crazy about this recipe. There was too much coconut in it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This morning, I grabbed all of the needed ingredients for this ambrosia salad, plus one banana, and 1 cup of walnuts per the suggestion of one allrecipes reviewer. I had no idea this recipe was going to yield such a huge amount, but, no matter! I am so happy because there is so much more of this ambrosia for me to eat!!! As they used to say in my 20's,"This is The Bomb!"!!! I have never made ambrosia before, even though I would always see it at potlucks. It always seems to be a staple at parties held by one specific ethnicity of my ethnic background. And, I would always turn my nose up at it, thinking it would be too sweet. When first reading the recipe, I balked at the use of the marshmallows, but trudged on. This recipe is sweet, but not like it will give you a sugar high. Once I had gotten everything combined, Wow!!! This was absolutely so delicious! The crunchiness of walnuts (or I'm sure if you use any other nut, like cashews) balances the other textures of the softer ingredients. The marshmallows are so heavenly with the walnuts! Everything goes so well together! Unfortunately, my husband does not share my enthusiasm for this recipe. I would absolutely love to share what I'd made, but cannot think of a soul to share this with. Didi, thank you so much for your recipe! Whether my husband likes it or not, this will be a keeper in our recipe file!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbluetyphoon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I tweeked this recipe a bit. I added chunks of Granny Smith apples (with the skins on) and chopped pecans. Sans the coconut (no coconut), added sour cream AND whipped topping plus a splash of whole milk. Also had the mandarins, the marshmallows and the cherries. Oh, also I chopped up a whole, fresh sweet pineapple! Chewy, refreshing and good for you. I am eating a bowl right now. Goes great with homemade lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
rich and filling - Jack does not like coconut!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
The longer it sits in the fridge the better, I let is sit for 24 hours and it was even better. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I made this dessert for a Christmas Eve party at my cousin's this past year. I added just a bit of ground cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg to the original recipe, also instead of milk, I added sour cream. It was delicious, just as good as what Mom used to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I love ambrosia salad...this one isn't too bad. Keeps nicely in the fridge for a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I like to subsitiute a small container of berry flavored yogurt (the "thick and creamy" kind) for the whipped topping and milk. Also, toast the coconut and add it right before serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States